Huevos Endiablados

delicioso!

delicioso!

One of my 2013 New Year’s Resolutions is to learn Spanish so that next time I go to Cuba and ask for the bathroom, they won’t think I’m saying: “excuse me, where is the cigar?” (yep, something got lost in translation there).

I’ve already started loading up on vocab courtesy of Memrise, which means I can tell you that ‘huevos endiablados’ is Spanish for devilled* eggs (see? Clearly I’m a prodigy).

try not to eat the yolk as you extract it...I admit it, I had a nibble

try not to eat the yolk as you extract it…I admit it, I had a nibble

All the lovely typical Spanish flavours are there – cumin, paprika etc.

If you’re paleo/primal, there’s a good chance you are inhaling eggs at a fearsome rate, so this is a good way of mixing things up.

exquisito!

exquisito!

Buen provecho les amigos!

*before you leave comments berating my shoddy spelling, the British word contains two ‘l’s, the US has one. I’m from the British side of the Atlantic so ‘devilled’ it is.

Huevos Endiablados (serves 2)

  • 2 large eggs, hard-boiled
  • 1 tsp sour cream
  • 1/4 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 small clove garlic, minced
  • pinch of sea salt
  1. Slice the eggs lengthways and scoop out the yolks, transferring them to a mixing bowl.
  2. Mash the yolks with the sour cream, cumin, paprika, lemon juice, salt and garlic until well combined.
  3. Place about a tsp’s worth back into each hollowed out egg, sprinkle with paprika and chill before serving.

Like this? You might also like:

20 thoughts on “Huevos Endiablados

  1. I’m not that fond of eggs, but I do like huevos endiablados. Well, I like the deviled yolk mixture and would just toss out the whites if not for guilt over wasted food. These sound great! Thanks for the Spanish lesson too! ~Nancy

    • Awesome! That’s just what I’ve been looking for, getting a bit sick of just inhaling vocab and want a bit more useful, conversational stuff. Thanks, I’ll have to bookmark it and save for future use 🙂

      • you’re welcome! glad I could help 🙂 and actually, I think I have more links to include for that post. so much to do with my blog, so little time….thanks for the follow too and happy blogging!

  2. These are just what my Mom used to make for us, and she was from Iceland…so now we are all over the globe! Thanks for the memory poke. I will be making these later today

  3. Just finished off a batch of these! I found that they needed a bit of spice though, so I added a squirt of sriracha (to a 6x batch of a dozen eggs) and they were perfect! Oh, and I also used homemade bacon mayo- yum!

  4. Pingback: Fisherman’s Eggs | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Happy (early) Cinco de Mayo! | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: BBQ Pork Burritos (gluten/grain-free) | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: Salsa Baked Eggs | Things My Belly Likes

  8. Pingback: Green Eggs & Ham Omelette | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

