Double Chocolate Cheesecake

based on a Martha Stewart recipe - no-one does cheesecake like Martha

based on a Martha Stewart recipe – no-one does cheesecake like Martha

Most people will be waking up today and thinking about new year’s resolutions.

I intend to start the year as I mean to go on.

So I’m starting it with cake.

this cake right here

this cake right here

Truth be told, this was actually our dessert on Christmas Day (requested by dearest hubs who would cheerfully wrestle a bear for cheesecake. Actually, being Canadian, he’d probably wrestle a bear for most things).

I licked the spoon, the bowl, the pan...and basically anything I could get my hands on

I licked the spoon, the bowl, the pan…and basically anything I could get my hands on

It’s not just a cake for Christmas though. This is a forward-looking cake. A cake that deserves to be eaten in 2012, 2013 and all the years after that (until the Solyent Green rations are handed out).

Whether or not they included cake, I hope y’all enjoyed your new year celebrations.

we had it with vanilla ice-cream and belly regrets nothing. NOTHING!

we had it with vanilla ice-cream and belly regrets nothing. NOTHING!

Happy New Year to you, from me.

As you read this, I will be in Toronto, wrapping up warm against the Canadian cold, enjoying some fine Canadian foods and keeping an eye out for bears.

 

and in this arty shot, you can see my reflection taking the pic

and in this arty shot, you can see my reflection taking the pic (or at least my hand)

Double Chocolate Cheesecake (serves 6)

*adapted from Martha Stewart (she does a ganache on top so, if you want extra decadence, check that out)

Crust:

  • 1 1/4 cup walnuts, chopped
  • 1/2 cup sliced almonds
  • 2 tbsps molasses
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 tbsp sunflower seed butter (or other nut butter)

Filling:

  • 2 cups sour cream
  • 24 oz cream cheese, softened at room temp
  • 7oz dark chocolate, melted
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 4 large eggs
  1. To make the crust, grind the nuts in a food processor until a fine crumb. Transfer to a mixing bowl. Sieve in the cocoa powder and then stir in the nut butter and molasses.

    it should look something like this

    it should look something like this

  2. Once it starts to clump together, spoon the mixture into the bottom of a greased 9in springform pan and press it into a layer. Chill in the fridge while you work on the filling.
  3. Using an electric whisk, blend the cream cheese and honey until smooth. Beat in the eggs, one at a time.
  4. Whisk in the sour cream, then the chocolate.
  5. Pour onto pie crust and bake at 350 for an hour. If you’re concerned about cracking, turn the oven off and do not take the cheesecake out until cool. This gradual cooling will help it stay in one piece.

Like this? You might also like:

13 thoughts on “Double Chocolate Cheesecake

  1. Thanks for sharing … I will have some after 6.00pm when i break my fast … Smiling … Just looking at it … I want some right away … but … I just have to wait …

  2. Pingback: Guava Cheesecake | Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Chocolate Key Lime Cheesecake Bites (dairy-free!) | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Pumpkin Pie Cheesecake | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

