Brussel Sprout Hash

easy, quick, good

When hubby’s away it’s hard to muster the enthusiasm to cook.

Its just doesn’t seem worth the effort of putting a good plate of food together when I’m the only one there to appreciate it.

Which is why I stick to one-pot, messy, quick meals like this one.

Hubs was AWOL recently so I threw this together as a quick get-in-my-belly fix while I got on with other things (‘other things’ being pining, moping and complaining about my lonely ass…clearly any independent, feminist leanings disappeared with marriage).

brussel sprouts…for people who don’t like brussel sprouts

It’s a very convenient way of getting as many vegetables into you as possible..and still having something delicious at the end of a long, hard, lonely day. I used sweetcorn and peas, but you can always mix it up.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to sit by the window and gaze out pensively while mourning my loneliness, like a terrible French art film.

Brussel Sprout Hash (serves 2)

  • 8oz brussel sprouts
  • 1 small, white onion, sliced
  • 1/2 cup garden peas
  • 1/2 cup sweetcorn
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 2 tbsps butter
  • 2 tbsps balsamic vinegar
  • 1/4 cup water
  1. Trim and quarter the brussel sprouts. Melt the butter in a large frying pan or saucepan (whatever you use make sure it has a lid) and add the garlic, onion and balsamic vinegar.
  2. Fry for 10 minutes over a medium heat until the onions are soft and brown. Add the sprouts and stir well. Pour in the water, cover and let cook for 5-7 minutes until the sprouts are tender.
  3. Stir in the corn and peas and, when they are warmed through (I used frozen peas and corn), serve.

Like this? You might also like:

This post was shared at Fat Tuesday.

9 thoughts on “Brussel Sprout Hash

  1. Pingback: Basil & Lemon Brussel Sprouts | Things My Belly Likes

  2. Pingback: Roasted Brussel Sprouts & Chestnuts | Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Brussels Sprout & Ginger Slaw | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Pan-fried Brussel Sprouts with Red Onion & Soppressata | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Pan-fried Brussels Sprouts with Bacon & Parmesan | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Roasted Cabbage Wedges with Parmesan | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: Smashed Brussels Sprouts | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

