Rosemary Butternut Squash Hash

quick, easy, simple and nutritious

Yesterday a friend of mine used the word ‘potato’ as a verb. As in ” I’m just about to potato the pie.”

After checking that it wasn’t a euphemism for something I’d rather not know about, I started to berate her for her shoddy application of the English language (yep, I’m that friend) but then realised that would be hypocritical.

this is probably a good time to admit that I don’t even like squash that much

Because, only last week, I used the word ‘hash’ as a verb. As in: “wonder what I’ll do with all this butternut squash? Perhaps I should hash it?”

Dog, to whom the question was addressed, merely raised an eyebrow but I didn’t need his approval anyway. I’d hash this squash and be damned!

lovely colours!

It turned out very nicely. Especially topped with a poached egg and some grated cheese.

And now that I’ve discovered this new application for squash, I’m away to potato something.

Rosemary Butternut Squash Hash (serves 2)

  • 1/2 butternut squash, de-seeded, peeled and diced into very small cubes
  • 1/2 small, white onion, finely chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp rosemary, finely chopped (you can use dried or fresh)
  • 2 tbsps butter
  1. Heat the butter in a large saucepan and add the onion and garlic. Saute for a few minutes.
  2. Toss in the squash cubes and rosemary. Cover. Let it gently fry over a medium heat for 15 minutes. Serve.

Like this? You might also like:

This post was shared at Fight Back Friday, Kelly the Kitchen Kop, Fat Tuesday and The Healthy Home Economist.

8 thoughts on “Rosemary Butternut Squash Hash

  1. Pingback: Rosemary Butternut Squash Hash | Glenda the Good Foodie

  2. Pingback: Fennel & Parsley Stuffed Butternut Squash | Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Curried Parsnip & Squash Soup | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Coconut & Squash Soup | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

