The Superfood Alternative to Coffee

will not give you superpowers, but tastes damn good

We may as well get into it now.

I’m a food blogger and, as a food blogger, I will occasionally get offered freebies (not as often as I’d like, believe me).

This is no different than someone handing out a sample of Product X in the grocery store, hoping that you’ll buy Product X and casually drop into conversation:“have you heard of this Product X stuff? It’s amazing.”

Obviously there’s some moral wiggle room in this arrangement however, so I’m going to make you two promises:

1. I’ll tell you when I get things for free and

2. If it stinks, I’ll say so.

Product X

two flavours! Why Choffy, you are really spoiling me

Happily, Choffy doesn’t stink.

Choffy is basically cacao beans, roasted and ground to produce something that looks like coffee, without the caffeine. Instead, cacao gets its energy from theobromine – a natural stimulant which increases circulation.

There’s a reason why nutritionists are always screaming about dark chocolate, as opposed to milk. Dark chocolate has more cacao and cacao contains more antioxidants than the darlings of the health world: goji berries, acai and pomegranate.

It’s also got an impressive amount of polyphenols which can protect against heart disease, lower blood pressure and reduce cholesterol.

Oh, and, for the paleo crowd, you might be interested to know that Choffy got a thumbs up from Mark Sisson himself.

did I mention that it smells amazing?

The Verdict

So far, so good. But what did hubs and I think of Choffy?

We got two flavours – Ivory Coast and La Espanola. Both were medium roast. You can make Choffy either in a french press (as we did) or a standard coffee maker.

I really liked the taste, it’s similar to a very rich, slightly bitter hot chocolate, I enjoyed it hot and cold. I also added a dash of cream and that was heaven.

it’s good icy cold too

But the real test was hubs. I married a guy that adores his coffee. Truly. If it were legal to marry coffee beans, I wouldn’t have got a look in.

So he is the ultimate yardstick for this kind of experiment. He not only loves his coffee but he’s tried a few substitutes in his time (barley coffee anyone?!) so isn’t easily fooled.

When I asked if he liked it, he said “yes”. When I asked if it’d replace his daily 4-6 cups of coffee he said he’d probably replace half those cups with cups of Choffy, which is high praise indeed.

hot chocolate for breakfast – very European of me

Would I buy Choffy? Yes, I would. I like that it’s a healthier alternative to hot chocolate, cocoa and coffee. I also intend to use some of the leftover grounds in baking (watch this space!) and will report back on how well it stands up to being crammed in a cake………mmmm, I wish someone would cram me in a cake.

Weigh in: Do you have a serious coffee habit? Have you ever tried any unusual faux-coffee products? Do you like the sound of roasted cacao?

This post was also shared at Fight Back Friday, Kelly the Kitchen Kop and The Healthy Home Economist.

30 thoughts on “The Superfood Alternative to Coffee

    • Hi Oana. I’m pretty sensitive to coffee too and didn’t feel any ‘buzz’ after Choffy. It’s got much less caffeine than a coffee so you’d probably be ok. If you can eat a chocolate bar without getting hyper, you’ll be fine.

      • Here’s the response from the company. Reasoned explanation why they don’t offer sample sizes:

        Thank you for your email and interest in Choffy. I’m glad you found us and I’m happy to help. Unfortunately at this time we don’t have any distributors located in your area. What we recommend is that you go to our website, http://www.drinkchoffy.com to place an order. We do offer a 30 day money back guarantee if you don’t like Choffy.

        Choffy is 100% Roasted and Ground Cacao Bean. It is gluten free, dairy free, and sugar free because there are no additives to it and the cacao bean is free of all of those. It is best when prepared in a French Press as that allows the Choffy grinds to steep in the boiling water and gives the best flavor. Just like baking chocolate, Choffy is naturally bitter as there are no additives to it, and no sugars. We have found that those trying Choffy for the first time usually like to try it a few times with different amounts of Choffy, creamer, sugar.

        For this reason we don’t recommend starting out with just a small sample, because it takes a few tries usually to make it just how you like it. Our smallest bag is a 3 pack of 4 oz bags which makes about 2 full 32 oz French presses each. You can purchase this in a variety pack and sample all three flavors. For only $18, these are a great size and price to start off with!

    • This brings a thought to my mind that I have pondered off and on. What does adding a raw product to a hot product do to the nutritional benefits of the raw product? I add raw milk to my coffee (maybe now Choffy!) and have a couple of tins of raw tea. I guess I could sun brew the tea, but the tea is meant to be served hot.

  1. Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat.Com™ and commented:
    Something those addicted to regular coffee might like to try. Less addictive, tastes great, probably less expensive as well. Thank you Ms. Cat from Things My Belly Likes.

  2. There are so many commenting on this on my reblog of your post…you hit it out the park with this post….thank you Ms. Cat

  3. I have a love for coffee that is almost beyond description. I’ve read a good bit of the studies related to it and for every one that says it’s bad there’s one that says it’s good. It is also loaded with antioxidants – more than any other food source. Sounds like you found a great evening alternative, but there is no way I’m giving up my morning coffee. 😉

  4. Reblogged this on 2012 Spirit In Action and commented:
    What a wonderful idea! I miss coffee very much as I can no longer drink it for medical reasons, so looking forward to trying this. I wonder how it would work using the Aztec morning chocolate recipe? Thank you very much for this post, very interesting and useful!

  5. I drink about 160 ounces of coffee dailey. Morning till night. Strong.
    But hey I’ll see if I can find this and try it. I doubt I would replace coffee but another alternative is always welcome.
    Thank You.

  6. I had to give up coffee because of GERD. I LOVE Teeccino. Many flavours, a lot of them organic. It ends up costing less than coffee, as I make it in a French press and use less. I just bought six bags of Amaretto, Vanilla Nut and Hazelnut. I am completely happy now without the coffee and the GERD is GONE! Best place to buy it is vitacost.com.

  7. Pingback: Chocolate: From Bean to Bar | Things My Belly Likes

  8. Pingback: Chocolate Chip Banana Bread | Things My Belly Likes

  9. Pingback: 3 Reasons You Should Be Punching Yourself In The Face For Not Attending PaleoFX | Things My Belly Likes

  10. Reblogged this on Queer Landia and commented:
    I discovered this yesterday and am HOOKED! I never thought I would EVER become a distributor of ANY product-but how else am I going to get discounts on my new obsession?! 🙂

Leave a Reply

