Seared Chicken Thighs with Bacon & Red Chard

I’ve been eating a lot of bacon lately, so much that I’m starting to worry some sort of pig mafia is going to put out a hit on our household.

It’s just such a cheap, easy way to get some good animal fats into a meal.

chard reduces down a lot in cooking, like spinach, so be very generous with your portions

Plus it goes with everything except, perhaps, stationery.

the smell drove Dog to a nervous breakdown

I threw this mid-week meal together in a panic. The sort of how-is-it-dinner-time-already? panic that I sometimes fall prey to on days ending in ‘y’.

Seared Chicken Thighs with Bacon & Red Chard (serves 2)

  • 2 chicken thighs
  • 3 bacon rashers, cut into small pieces
  • 3 large leaves red chard (this was about four cups), de-ribbed and roughly chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1/2 small, white onion, finely chopped
  • 2 tbsps chicken stock
  • 3 tbsps butter
  1. Season the chicken thighs.
  2. Melt 2 tbsps butter in a large frying pan and turn the heat up high. When the butter starts foaming put the thighs in the pot and sear them over the high heat for a few minutes on each side until they brown. Remove from pan and transfer to an oven-proof dish, heat your oven to 375 and bake the chicken for 25 minutes.
  3. While the chicken cooks through, add another tbsp of butter to the pan and gently fry the onion, garlic and bacon bits until the onion is golden and the bacon crispy.
  4. Add the chard to the pan along with the chicken stock and saute for a few minutes more until it wilts.
  5. Scoop the chard and bacon mixture onto a plate, place the seared chicken thigh on top and serve immediately.

Like this? You might also like:

This post was shared at The Healthy Home Economist.

10 thoughts on “Seared Chicken Thighs with Bacon & Red Chard

  1. “EAY’! Youse seen my little pig?”
    “Cause I been lookin’ for my little pig and yo’ah neighbah’ ova’ d’ere says he seen you wid’ a big old side of bacon.”
    “YOUSE seen my little pig?”
    “Cause if I find out you got my little pig; It’ll be cay’-tens for youse guys”

    “Oh hey, jeez’; deese’ look like some juicy tighs’ you got d’ere.”
    “You gonna eat all dem’ tighs’: and bacon and; what’s that bacon?; yeh bacon; and red chard.
    “Wud’ jew’do; fry dat chard?”
    “Jeez’ my old lady used to fry chard; yeh; right up to da’ day I caught hah’ wid’ dat’ dirty rat Rocko”
    “Eay’; you shu’a you ain’t seen my little pig? ”
    *****************************************************
    I love thighs. So juicy and flavorful. these look great. I’ll try this one.

  2. Pingback: Seared Scallops with Bacon Mustard Sauce | Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Basil Chicken Casserole | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Nom Nom Paleo’s Cracklin’ Chicken | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

