Coffee Creme Brulee

make it with pastured, organic cream/eggs and you’ve got yourself a nutrient-dense dessert

For a posh-sounding dessert, creme brulee is actually very simple.

I think it’s the french. Give anything a french name and it’ll sound fancy.

Les Pommes de Terre Avec Du Buerre*

so simple, so delicious

Potatoes and butter. See?

I whip this kind of dessert out for dinner parties (or I would if I had any dinner parties). It’s an easy make-ahead dish that, like me, is much better chilled.

bon appetit!

Also there’s the french. Your guests will be duly impressed if you plonk it in front of them with a flourish, and announce to the table: “voila! creme brulee au cafe!”

*apologies for any errors, I’m using my rudimentary school-learned french here.

Coffee Creme Brulee (serves two – I made mine in a 24oz dish instead of individual ramekins)

  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 2 tbsps coconut palm sugar (or any dark sugar)
  • 1 tsp coffee extract
  • 3 large egg yolks
  1. Beat together the egg yolks, coffee extract and sugar.
  2. Heat the cream until it is warm to the touch then pour into the egg yolks and whisk well.
  3. Pour this mixture into a ramekin and place into a water bath (a shallow dish full of water – the water should reach halfway up the sides of your brulee container).
  4. Bake at 400 for 30-40 minutes until set.
  5. If you want a crispy crust on your brulee, sprinkle a tbps of sugar over the top and either stick in under the broiler or use a brulee torch if you own one.
  6. When the brulee is done, let cool then move to the fridge. It tastes better after a few hours of chilling.

Like this? You might also like:

8 thoughts on “Coffee Creme Brulee

  1. Creme brulee is my favorite dessert! And, I was a French major in college and still don’t know if you made any errors …. use it or lose it 🙂

    • I don’t think it’d be a straight swop – the flavour wouldn’t be as intense and it might not set right with the extra liquid. You could always give it a go and use a lot of coffee/leave it in the oven for longer but I can’t guarantee success! Let me know how it goes if you do try…g’luck 🙂

  2. Pingback: Peppermint Eggnog | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

