Cranberry & Goji Sauce

goji berries have one of the highest antioxidant content of any food

Why make an ordinary cranberry sauce, when you can make a superfood cranberry sauce?

That’s the question I posed myself last weekend (yes, I’m not the greatest conversationalist when it comes to my inner monologue).

I can almost taste the vitamin C!

By introducing antioxidant rich goji berries into the mix, I’m making sure my cranberry sauce packs a nutritious punch…and also tastes great. Nutrition is all well and good but if belly doesn’t like then it’s a no go.

Happily this sauce, sweetened with molasses and given a hint of orange zest, is awesome.

cranberries have a lot of pectin, so are ideal for jams or sauces (see?! I know stuff!)

I didn’t have it with turkey because I refuse to eat something that ugly (only kidding, I’m just not that keen on the meat) but it made our Sunday roast chicken dinner go down a treat.

Cranberry & Goji Sauce (makes about a cup and a half)

  • 1 cup cranberries
  • 1/2 cup dried goji berries
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 tbsps blackstrap molasses
  • 1 tsp orange zest
  1. Put the cranberries, goji berries, molasses and water in a saucepan. Bring to the boil and then reduce the heat to let it simmer for ten minutes (the cranberries should’ve popped by then).
  2. Stir in the orange zest then pour the gooey sauce into a container and place in the fridge. It will set further as it chills.

Like this? You might also like:

8 thoughts on “Cranberry & Goji Sauce

    • I found mine in a healthfood shop in Canada. You could either get them online, at Whole Foods or your local health store. They’ve become pretty popular in recent years because of the whole ‘superfood’ thing so shouldn’t be too hard to track down. G’luck!

  1. This sounds wonderful! It’s a pity it’s not my turn to host Christmas Day as I would be definitely be making this…when it’s not my turn I’m in charge of the Christmas Cake not the turkey…next year! 🙂

Leave a Reply

