Ginger & Lime Fish Soup

good for a winter’s night…or any night really

Our neighbour kindly gifted us some fresh fish recently…I say kindly – that wasn’t my first reaction.

Speaking as an ex-vegetarian, it’s hard for me to get excited about a parcel of two dead fish (that’s four dead eyes and two slimy dead fish heads in case anyone’s counting).

ewwwwwwwwwwwwww

But the cook in me was excited – how often do you get freshly caught snapper that came from the ocean just steps from your front door?

Wanting to get the maximum benefit from this unexpected gift, I threw the entire fish in a pot with some veggies, herbs, water and a dash of white wine, and made nutrient-dense fish stock.

almost all of my favourite meals start with these – ginger, garlic, lime and pepper

Fish stock is rich in iodine and does wonders for your thyroid, among other things.

But, once I had bottles of the stuff, the question arose…what to do with it?

the staging area

And that brings me to this soup. It’s a kind of Asian inspired effort. I used snapper for the white fish but anything meaty will do.

It’s very flavoursome – light, zingy and with a spicy warming aftertaste.

Ginger & Lime Fish Soup (serves 3-4)

  • 2 white fish fillets, cleaned, de-skinned and cut into chunks.
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 small white onion, finely sliced
  • 1 1/2 cups green cabbage, finely sliced
  • 1 inch chunk fresh ginger root, grated
  • 1 scotch bonnet pepper, finely chopped
  • 1/2 cup fresh lime juice
  • 4 cups fish stock
  • 1 tbsp butter
  1. Heat the butter in a large saucepan and add the onion. Fry for a few minutes then add the ginger, pepper and garlic.
  2. Saute for 3 minutes to let the flavours blend.
  3. Stir in the cabbage and fish, let fry for a few minutes more (but be careful not to poke the fish too much – you don’t want it to flake, the chunks should be kept intact).
  4. Pour in the fish stock, cover and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat to let it simmer for 25 minutes.
  5. Pour in the lime juice. Serve.

Like this? You might also like:

27 thoughts on “Ginger & Lime Fish Soup

  1. Thanks for the fish stock tip, had no idea it was rich in iodine! I had issues with my thyroid after I gave birth so this encourages me to eat more fish(and stock!). Love this recipe, will try it next time I buy fish.

    • Ooooh, you HAVE to try this stock. It’s seriously great for you….of course it does smell a bit fishy and the taste takes some getting used to but I’m definitely making it a regular part of our diet for the health benefits alone.

      • My mum used to make fish soup when we were kids so I am well used to fish eyes bobbing up and down and of course, the smell!!Need to get some fish this weekend and create some memories for my wee one :-).

  2. Pingback: Highlights From The Spam Folder | Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Creamy Cod & Bacon Soup | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Pimp Your Broth: 6 Tips To Take Your Broth From Good to Great | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Honey Lemon Chicken | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Smoked Trout Chowder | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: Blackened Pan Fried Snapper | Things My Belly Likes

  8. Pingback: Tom Kha Gai Soup for Dummies | Things My Belly Likes

  9. Pingback: Fish Stock | Things My Belly Likes

  10. Pingback: Caribbean Fish Soup | Things My Belly Likes

  11. Pingback: Mussel & Coconut Broth | Things My Belly Likes

  12. i made this with shrimp and crabmeat today and it is awesome! seriously a great base for any time of fish you want to put into it.

  13. Pingback: Spicy Grouper Chowder | Things My Belly Likes

  14. Pingback: Homemade Fish Stock | The Domestic Man

Leave a Reply

