Mocha Chocolate Hearts

feel the love

All the Hollywood love stories end with marriage, but the screenwriters have it wrong.

Marriage isn’t the final act, it’s just the opening scene.

use organic, pastured eggs if possible!

Hubs and I celebrated our wedding anniversary a few days ago and, although we’re still at the start of our story, it’s getting more beautiful with every passing chapter.

Seriously, it’s a page turner.

they rise well in the oven but will deflate slightly on cooling

Every self-help book will tell you that communication is a key ingredient of any good relationship.

While I tell hubs I love him every day, I still like to express myself through food (cooking has always been my go-to emotional outlet).

being flourless, they are deliciously light and fluffy

Which is why, to celebrate our aniversary, I decided on some coffee and chocolate treats. Those are two of hubs’ favourite things. You could omit the coffee extract if you’re not as keen/avoiding caffeine.

And, of course, they’re heart shaped.

The heart is what it’s all about after all. As e e cummings wrote: “I carry your heart with me (I carry it in my heart) i am never without it.”

dusted with cocoa powder – I’d also recommend topping with whipped cream or ice cream

*don’t worry – normal service (ie without the mushy stuff) will be resumed tomorrow

Mocha Chocolate Hearts

*Adapted from Elana’s Pantry

  • 3 large eggs, separated
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 3oz dark chocolate (I used 88%)
  • 2 very ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 3 tsps coffee extract
  1. Melt the butter, chocolate and honey together until liquid. Remove from heat and let cool slightly.
  2. Mash in the banana, followed by the egg yolks (beating them in, one at a time).
  3. Sieve in the cocoa powder and stir in the coffee extract.
  4. In a separate bowl, beat the egg whites until they form stiff peaks.
  5. Fold the chocolate mixture into the egg whites, pour into a heart/muffin tray and bake at 350 for 12-15 minutes. Let cool completely before removing from tin (they should shrink away from the sides, making this easier).

Like this? You might also like:

18 thoughts on “Mocha Chocolate Hearts

  1. Could reconstituted espresso powder be used in place of the coffee extract? About how much powder do you think I might need?

    • It’s hard to say, I’m not sure the taste would be the same. If I were you, I’d add it a tsp at a time, tasting the batter as I go. Once you have it just on the cusp of strong enough (the flavour will come out more during cooking) stop! G’luck and let me know how it goes. Even if you skip the coffee taste, they’ll still be good

  2. Pingback: Nutty Snowballs | Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Flourless Chestnut Brownies | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Be Mine, And Pass The Cake | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Dairy Free Mocha ‘Ice Cream’ | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Very Berry Chocolate Cakes | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: Cookie Dough Hearts | Things My Belly Likes

  8. Pingback: Orange & Cranberry Cakes | Things My Belly Likes

  9. Pingback: Sweets for your Sweet (the Valentine’s Round-Up) | Things My Belly Likes

  10. Pingback: Double Chocolate Chip Power Bars | Things My Belly Likes

  11. Pingback: Pecan Brownie Hearts | Things My Belly Likes

  12. Pingback: Let The Valentine’s Celebrations Begin! | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

