Maple Coconut Chocolates

they literally melt in your mouth – that’s coconut oil for you

This recipe first came to my attention when hubs sent it to me via email.

As I noticed it pop up in my inbox, I thought to myself:  “what is hubs trying to tell me?!

you could make these in the same time it takes to yell “shut up” at your frantic-for-no-good-reason dog. I speak from experience

After much deliberation, I finally figured it out – he wanted me to make these delicious creations! (hubs is nothing if not subtle)

Of course, in the interests of marital bliss…and my own yearning for sweet treats….I acquiesced.

no baking required!

And it was fortunately very easy since I had all the ingredients in the cupboard, ready to go. You can just whip up a batch of these before dinner and they’ll be ready in time for dessert.

And with coconut oil as the main ingredient, you are getting a healthy dose of an extremely nutritious fat that can improve your digestion, heart health, immune system, hair, skin and nails.

It’s a superfood and it’s chocolate. I’m so good to you.

Maple Coconut Chocolates (makes 6)

*adapted from Beyond The Peel

  • 1 cup coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 4 tbsps maple syrup
  • 2 tsps vanilla extract
  1. Heat the coconut oil until liquid and stir in the maple syrup.
  2. Sieve in the cocoa powder and whisk until combined. Add the vanilla extract.
  3. Pour into individual muffins cases (to prevent spreading I put the cases in a muffin tray while filling them).
  4. Place in the freezer for 30 minutes. Keep in the fridge until needed.

Like this? You might like:

This post was shared at The Healthy Home Economist, and Fight Back Friday.

53 thoughts on “Maple Coconut Chocolates

  1. Delicious, I think? I put them in the fridge right away, as there was no room in my freezer. What I ended up with was the solidified cocoa/coconut oil on top and a little pool of maple syrup underneath.

    I’m assuming it’s because I didn’t freeze them, the syrup didn’t stay suspended?
    Wonder if I can melt the whole works back together and try re-freezing?

  2. Hi there,

    I tried to make your above recipe however the coconut oil and maple syrup didn’t bind at all when I was mixing it together (as per your first step instructed)… is there something I’m doing wrong? Everything else bound fine. I popped the mixture in the freezer anyway however when I went to remove the chocolates from their cases I found the maple syrup to be left at the bottom of the mould resulting in a lack of even distribution of sweetness throughout the chocolates. I even froze them overnight thinking that maybe it hadn’t set however there was still maple syrup left at the bottom of the moulds…

    Any tips/advice would be greatly appreciated as I’d love to make these successfully!

    Thank you

    • Hi Michelle. Was your coconut oil liquid enough? I know it can be tricky because it hardens so easily. I live in a warm country so mine’s always a liquid and I had no problem stirring it in with the maple syrup. Try heating them together for a few minutes longer while whisking constantly. Hope that helps.

    • That is what I was describing above Michelle. Glad I’m not the only one. Mine was melted to liquid when I did it. I remelted them together, and then turned them into a version of no-bake cookies. (You all know them, right?) Added coconut, oats, a little more agave. They’re pretty yummy!

  3. Pingback: Maple Coconut Chocolates « Blog « iwilldoit2

  4. Pingback: My belly really likes Things My Belly Likes! « theprimalsexy

  5. Pingback: Nutty Snowballs | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Other People’s Food 7: The Comfort Food Edition « anunrefinedvegan

  7. Pingback: Chestnut Stuffed Dates | Things My Belly Likes

  8. I want to make these for my son, he is Type 1 diabetic and I have a feeling that these are low in carbs. Do you have any idea on the carb count per serving. And does it taste like fudge, because he misses fudge, I don’t buy it anymore because of his condition, Thanks!

    • Hi Amanda, I’m sorry but I’ve no idea about the carbs. The base is coconut oil which is carb-free so I don’t imagine they have much. As for the taste, it’s the consistency of fudge but definitely not as sweet. Also rather than the grainy texture you get with fudge, it’s a smooth, melt-in-your-mouth kind of taste. If you do decide to give them a go, hope he enjoys!

  9. Nope. Flop for me too. Maple syrup wouldn’t combine. Then added the coco and it just all clumped together and the oil was seperated. 😦
    How high heat do you melt the oil on? And do you turn off when adding rest?

    • Sorry to hear that. I had it on a medium heat and I kept it on the stove while adding the rest. Here’s a tip someone posted on facebook that might help: separation is really common and usually happens if the chocolate mix is heated too quickly. Cooking it with a double boiler should work better. You need to keep the heat down and have the patience to stir constantly

  10. I melted the coconut entirely before adding the maple syrup. I noticed the two never married. But I added the cocoa and vanilla anyway. After being in the freezer for an hour, all the coconut oil moved to top and made a thin white layer. They still taste good, but my family is scared to try them because of the white layer. Even though I tried to tell them it’s white chocolate. Haha!

  11. I made these last night with the addition of finely ground organic coconut and an extra dusting of unsweetened cocoa powder,and they were pretty amazing, although we did have the same experience of some of the syrup and even a bit of the vanilla settling out of some, but not all, of them. Will keep the Jan 10 comment in mind, as I’m sure my technique was at fault. Gonna try again, cause they are a wonderful idea, and variations (like a peanut butter center) so easy to imagine. Thank you!

  12. Pingback: Chocolate Chestnut Pudding | Things My Belly Likes

  13. Pingback: Spicy Wild Blueberry Chocolates! | Knights of the Green Table

  14. Pingback: Primal Fudge & Maple Cups | The Crunchy Lab

  15. Pingback: Pepita Chocolate Drops with Sea Salt and Pistachio | Things My Belly Likes

  16. Thanks for sharing this recipe. Just made them and they are delicious. Set perfectly in the freezer. I am bringing them to a family gathering this weekend.

  17. Pingback: Chocolate Fruit n’ Nut Bites | Things My Belly Likes

  18. Pingback: Almond Power Cookies | Things My Belly Likes

  19. Pingback: Vanilla Cranberry Squares | Things My Belly Likes

  20. Pingback: Coconut Oil Chocolates- Fantastic Food Friday | Changing My Balance

  21. Pingback: 32 Luscious Paleo Chocolate Recipes

  22. Pingback: 22 Romantic Valentine's Day Dessert Recipes - Crave Paleo

Leave a Reply

