Bowl o’ Brains Hummus

that is one unappetising colour

With Halloween just around the corner, and me trying to come up with a week’s worth of holiday food ideas*, my mind has been dripping with gore these past few days.

Not such a happy place to be when hubs is out of town and a tropical storm blows in…meaning that the power goes off every few hours, plunging the whole house into darkness without warning.

mmm…fleshy red peppers

It’s like a horror film except that instead of busty, blonde extras shrieking, I have Dog farting loudly and, in place of the undead swarming at the windows, it’s cockroaches trying to avoid the torrential rain.

Today’s Halloween treat is a bowl o’ brains, otherwise known as a delicious roasted red pepper hummus.

like a bowl of innards

Despite the name, there’s no chickpeas in this hummus so people that avoid legumes (they’re out there, and they’re coming for a burrito near you) can still get in on the love.

If I’d been less lazy had more time, I’d have made some severed toes, or other horrifying accompaniment.

vegetarians relax – there’s no real blood used in this recipe, just cheese

But I’m too busy stockpiling candles, checking all the cupboard doors are shut before I go to bed and making a weird, shrill “eep” sound whenever there’s an unexplained noise.**

**I’ll be doing Halloween-themed recipes all next week until the big day arrives. Stay tuned for Batty Brownies on Monday, not only are they delicious but you get to see my dubious art skills in action!

**It’s usually totally explainable.

Bowl o’ Brains Hummus (makes about a cup)

  • 7oz jar of roasted red peppers (or make your own of course, you need a cup’s worth)
  • 4oz cream cheese (softened – I did this by taking it out of the fridge for 30 mins before using)
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • 1 tbsp lime juice
  • 1 clove garlic
  1. Blend all the above together in a food processor until smooth.
  2. Chill until needed.

Like this? You might also like:

10 thoughts on “Bowl o’ Brains Hummus

  1. Glad to hear you’re ok and back online! I was a little afraid to look at the ingredient list on this one….brains. 🙂 (Which BTW, I recently prepared for the experience!)

    • Thanks Carla. It was a bit scary here for a while but the out islands took the brunt of it 😦 Plenny broken roofs, flooding and sand drifting over the roads. Hope everyone you know was safe and escaped with minimal damage. It’s funny, I was just saying last week “hurricane season is pretty much over now, we won’t get one this late in the year” Ha!

      • Yeah….it’s not over until Nov. 1st,! So let’s hope no storms in the next two days :(. All my peeps are good and safe, and glad you are too!

  2. Pingback: Halloween (Healthy) Recipe Round-Up! | Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Highlights From The Spam Folder | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Warm Parsnip Hummus | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

