Honey Walnut Chicken Salad

good with an arugula salad

There are times when I want to be a picnic person. One of those people who wear gingham dresses and own massive wicker hampers that they can fill at a moment’s notice with perfect salads and go tripping off to the countryside with their good-looking friends.

But then reality creeps in and I realise that I don’t own either hampers, gingham dresses or good-looking friends (sorry guys).

protein and healthy fats!

I don’t really care for wilted lettuce eaten al fresco, the grass around here is spiky, there are flies ready to pounce the minute you say “anyone ready for some guacamole?”, and any food exposed for longer than a second is ant fodder.

here’s a close-up, to further whet the appetite

But while I may never master picnics, I can certainly throw together a pretty tasty salad.

(see exhibit A above)

Honey Walnut Chicken Salad (serves 2)

  • 1 cup shredded chicken
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1 tbsp mayo
  • 1 tbsp yellow mustard
  • 1 tsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tsp honey
  1. Stir all the above together. Eat or chill….or chill, then eat.

Like this? You might also like:

This post was shared at The Healthy Home Economist.

19 thoughts on “Honey Walnut Chicken Salad

  1. What perfect timing. I poached some chicken yesterday to make my usual, boring, chicken salad. However, time got away from me so I just threw it in the fridge to take care of later. And now here is this fabulous new recipe! I will certainly be trying it tonight when I get home.

  2. Pingback: Friday 102612

  3. Pingback: Chicken Salad with Walnuts | The Journey of Two

  4. Pingback: Highlights From The Spam Folder | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Roasted Brussel Sprouts with Pecan Vinaigrette | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Tarragon Tuna Salad | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: Nutty Noodle Salad | Things My Belly Likes

  8. Pingback: Shredded Chicken & Blue Cheese Salad | Things My Belly Likes

  9. Pingback: Creamy Curried Chicken Salad | Things My Belly Likes

  10. Pingback: Tahini & Cashew Nut Chicken Salad | Things My Belly Likes

  11. Pingback: Curried Egg Salad | Things My Belly Likes

  12. Pingback: Cajun Cobb Salad | Things My Belly Likes

  13. Pingback: 42 Tasty Paleo Chicken Salad Recipes

Leave a Reply

