Cream Cheese Spinach

how to get kids to eat their veggies – smother ’em in cheese (the veggies, not the kids)

Here’s a recipe that’s not only crazy-delicious but also crazy-easy.

While hubby and I both love cheese, he is not that convinced about spinach. They’re still more passing acquaintances than firm friends and this troubles me.

Despite our differences, spinach and I are old loves. In fact, I’m so co-dependent, I can’t go a week without serving it in some form.

it’s the Romeo to my Juliet

To bring hubby over into the spinach camp, I united it with our love of cheese and made this yummy spinach bake/dip.

Use it for dipping, as a side to a meal or an appetizer. Whatever, just get it in your face*

I love all cheeses, but cream cheese has a special place in my heart

*carefully. TMBL is not responsible for any burning of delicate mouth parts that may occur.

Ricotta Creamed Spinach (serves 2)

  • 6 oz baby spinach leaves
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 3oz neufchatel (or any type of cream cheese – it helps if it’s slightly soft so take out of the fridge in advance)
  • 1 large clove garlic, minced
  • 1/2 cup grated mozzarella
  1. Saute the spinach and garlic in butter until the spinach leaves wilt.
  2. Transfer to a large collander or sieve and press firmly until all the water runs out of the spinach. It might take a while but you need to make sure that sucker is dry as a bone. I left it in the sieve for 10 minutes, with a very heavy pot on top, so it could drain.

    it takes a few minutes but means you don’t get a soggy dish

  3. Spoon the spinach into a 10 oz baking dish, season well and mix in the cream cheese.
  4. Sprinkle the grated mozzarella over the top.
  5. Bake at 375 for 30 minutes.

Like this? You might also like:

20 thoughts on “Cream Cheese Spinach

  1. Cheese and spinach go so well together. Baby Lady & I do a low fat spinach/cheese casserole from my Mom and Aunt that is killer and got my kids to eat spinach. I like your coupling neufchatel with the mozzarella. Have you thought about adding a pinch of nutmeg?

    • Plus that’s a lot of cheese going to waste. I love cheese too much to throw it around gratuitously 🙂

  2. Pingback: Lemon Butter Brussel Sprouts | Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Cream Cheese n’ Herb Scrambled Eggs | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Spinach, Kale & Garlic Dip | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Cheesy Mixed Greens | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

