Lemon Pumpkin Muffins

I highly recommend eating ’em warm and buttered

While browsing my local farmers’ market last weekend I realised that I’m a total sucker for the weird stuff.

Somehow I always manage to come away with something I’ve never even seen before, let alone cooked or eaten.

Take this beauty:

strange, no?

I was told by the helpful lady selling it, that it’s a pumpkin which mystified me cos I’m used to the round, orange type.

it might be because I’m a ginger and therefore biased, but I LOVE this colour

(not that I’ve ever eaten them before either – growing up in Ireland, pumpkins weren’t readily on the menu).

Once I brought it home, the question of what in the hell I was going to do with it arose, and my mind turned to dessert (actually my mind is almost constantly on ‘dessert’ setting).

hard to believe it started life as a humble pumpkin

But, when they came out of the oven all warm and squishy, I realised that these muffins are not just for dessert.

Happily they are also a hit for breakfast, second-lunch, mid-morning brunch and late-night-snack.

yep, that’s my hand. Bringing it to my face.

Lemon Pumpkin Muffins (makes around 10)

Pumpkin Puree (makes about 2 cups):

  • 1/2 pumpkin, seeds and pulpy bit removed
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 2 tsps lemon juice
  • 2 tsps lemon zest
  • 1 tbsp coconut palm sugar (you can also use brown sugar)
  1. Brush the flesh of the pumpkin with coconut oil then place, flesh side down, on a baking tray and roast at 400 for 30 minutes until tender.
  2. Scoop out the flesh (which should be nice and mushy) into a mixing bowl and stir in the lemon zest and juice, followed by the sugar. Set aside.

Muffins:

  • 4 tbsps coconut flour
  • 3 large eggs
  • 2 cups pumpkin puree (see above)
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted (you can also use coconut oil)
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  1. Beat the eggs, honey and melted butter into the pumpkin puree.
  2. Sieve in the baking powder, stir well. Sieve in the coconut flour and, again, stir well.
  3. Using a generous tbsp per muffin, dollop the mixture into a well-greased muffin tray, it should be enough for 10.
  4. Bake at 375 for 30 minutes ’til firm.

Like this? You might also like:

This recipe also appeared at The Healthy Home Economist

10 thoughts on “Lemon Pumpkin Muffins

  1. Pingback: Brown Sugar Lemon Curd | Things My Belly Likes

  2. Pingback: Fiery Squash Chili | Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Carrot & Squash Bread | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Avocado, Carrot & Honey Muffins | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Frosted Chocolate Chip Blueberry Muffins (Part I) | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

