Cranachan

very simple, very delicious

We’ve a Scottish friend staying with us at the moment, and so the house has been a whirlwind of whisky and singing.

(this isn’t stereotyping, it’s the God’s honest truth)

LOVE these suckers

Since he’s an old and dear friend who we don’t see as often as we’d like, I decided to commemorate the occasion by making a traditional Scottish dessert….the TMBL way.

Cranachan is traditionally a mix of whipped cream, raspberries, honey, whisky and toasted oatmeal.

Since I don’t do grains and can’t stand the taste of whiskey, I omitted the last two ingredients.

get in my belly!

Instead I bulked it up with some honeyed sour cream and added toasted almonds and pecans for the crunch.

It comes together like a sundae – everything layered and piled on top of itself in a tall glass.

Part of the joy is digging through the soft, sweet creamy part to the satisfying crunchy layer below.

And the other part of the joy is scarfing it down with old friends.

stick a mint leaf on top for extra fancy points

Cranachan (serves 2)

  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 2 tbsps honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • a handful of raspberries (I put about 6 in each serving)
  • 1/4 cup pecan pieces
  • 1/4 cup almonds, sliced
  1. Toast the nuts for a few minutes under the broiler (watch them like a hawk, if they turn black your dessert is ruined) until browned. Remove and let cool.
  2. Using an electric whisk, beat the cream, sour cream, vanilla and honey together until it reaches the consistency of a thick yoghurt.
  3. Select a tall dessert glass and start to assemble your cranachan. Scatter the toasted nuts on the bottom, then throw in the raspberries, finally pile the whipped cream on top. Chill or serve immediately.

Like this? You might also like:

11 thoughts on “Cranachan

  1. Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat.Comโ„ข and commented:
    YummY….”Cranachan is traditionally a mix of whipped cream, raspberries, honey, whisky and toasted oatmeal.” Does it get any better than this? “Since I donโ€™t do grains and canโ€™t stand the taste of whiskey, I omitted the last two ingredients.”………ok maybe it did. Thank you Ms. Cat & Things My Belly Likes.

  2. How coincidental! I was just going through my “FRUIT” recipe binder last night and came across another Cranachan recipe I’ve been meaning to try. Ya think this is a sign? I guess I will try yours first, since you’ve already Paleofied it. I’m such a lazy cook, what can I say? ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Pingback: Kefir Eggnog | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: It’s voting day in Scotland! Here are some recipes if (like me) you’re celebrating with a Scottish feast. | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Pomegranate & Vanilla Parfait | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

