Pear & Nutmeg Cupcakes

tip: they’d work well with a vanilla, cream cheese frosting

Talk about your ‘fall flavours’ – it doesn’t get any more autumnal than these babies.

Ripe pear and spicy nutmeg, combined to glorious effect in a warm, soft cake.

just the colour of a pear reminds me of the autumnal season

It’s almost poetic enough to write an ode. Something Milton-esque: ‘oh glorious season, alive with your fruitful bounty.’

In a perfect world, these cupcakes would be eaten after coming in from the harvest fields, ruddy-cheeked and brimming with wholesome goodness.

warm from the oven and smelling gooooooooood

In reality, I sat at the kitchen table in my pyjamas, sweating in the Caribbean heat and trying to ignore Dog’s side-eye that, instead of poetic sonnets, was saying: bitch*, when are you going to make meat cupcakes?”

they are deliciously moist and spongy

*Dog doesn’t curse, that type of profanity is considered perfectly acceptable in canine circles.

Pear & Nutmeg Cupcakes (makes 6)

  • 2 ripe pears, peeled, de-cored and chopped into small pieces
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tbsp water
  • 1/4 cup coconut flour
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil or melted butter
  • 1/4 cup honey, plus 1 tbsp
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  1. Add the pear, water, 1 tbsp of honey and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg to a saucepan. Let the mixture simmer over a medium heat until the pears soften (about 15 mins). Either mash with a hand-masher or transfer to a blender and puree. Set aside to cool.
  2. Sieve the coconut flour, the remaining tsp of nutmeg and baking powder into a mixing bowl. In a separate bowl, beat the eggs, coconut oil/butter and honey together.
  3. If the pear puree is cool, stir it into the eggs.
  4. Gradually add the wet ingredients to the dry and stir until it forms a semi-runny batter.
  5. Spoon into a muffin tray (it should make 6 muffins). Bake at 375 for 12-15 mins.

Like this? You might like:

This recipe also appeared at The Healthy Home Economist

21 thoughts on “Pear & Nutmeg Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Pear & Cranberry Crumble | Things My Belly Likes

  2. Pingback: Pear and Nutmeg Muffins | The Journey of Two

  3. I have tried twice now and cannot get this recipe to bake in the middle of each cupcake =(

    I have to use Ener-G egg substitute because I cannot have eggs… but I have had success in other recipes with it. I don’t understand why this one won’t work. So sad.

    • Hi Tasha. I’m really sorry to hear that. I can only recommend that you cut the liquid in the batter (perhaps by cutting the butter/oil in half?). Coconut flour is a very tricky flour to work with, it might not like the egg replacements.

      • I appreciate you commenting back =)

        I will give that a shot and see how it works. I am not especially smart with baking so I didn’t know to try that lol.

        The batter tastes great though! 😉

  4. Pingback: Baking with Coconut Flour: 5 Tips | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Ricotta & Honey Muffins | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Banana Date Muffins | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: Flourless Pear & Apple Cobbler | Things My Belly Likes

  8. Pingback: 32 Delish Paleo Cupcake Recipes

Leave a Reply

