Roast Pork Marilyn Munroe

I ate two portions. I am ashamed.

This recipe came from my mother who told me that she got it from a friend, who got it from another friend…and so on, and so on.

Somewhere along the line, a recipient asked the same question you’re probably wondering: “why is it called Pork Marilyn Munroe?”

And got the following answer: “because it’s my husband’s favourite dish.”

(my mother cackles like a madwoman every time she tells this story. Every time.)

with veggies (because everything goes well with veggies)

My husband isn’t really into Marilyn Munroe…he prefers non-curvy redheads ( I fervently hope) but he certainly was a fan of the recipe.

Roast Pork Marilyn Munroe (serves 2)

  • 100g pork tenderloin
  • 1/2 small, white onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 2 tbsps butter
  • 2 large mushrooms, thinly sliced
  • 1 tsp wholegrain mustard
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream
  1. Heat the butter in a frying pan until it froths. Season the pork with sea salt and pepper then add to the pan and sear on both sides (it should be nice and brown on both sides).
  2. Remove the pork and take the pan off the heat (but don’t wash – conserve those precious meat juices). Transfer the pork to a baking dish, cover and bake at 375 for 30 minutes.
  3. In the meantime, put the pan back on the heat. Add the onions and garlic, fry on a medium heat for five minutes. Add the mushrooms and fry for a few more minutes until they brown and soften.
  4. Take the pan off the heat, stir in the mustard and then the cream. Keep warm until the pork’s ready then serve over the top.

Like this? You might also like:

2 thoughts on “Roast Pork Marilyn Munroe

  1. I was going to make this comment on the mashed rutabaga post because of the whole autumn thing, but since I actually made this recipe I’m commenting here instead. Well, I kind of made this recipe. Mainly because I cannot leave well enough alone even when something is probably already perfect the way it is.

    I used a pork roast instead of tenderloin because it was on sale and probably quadrupled it if not more. 100g is kind of small for my Viking-esque husband especially if I hope for leftovers for lunch (there were none). Also, caramelized a small yellow onion and simmered 8oz of baby bella slices in some sherry and then made the mustard cream sauce. It was so delicious. I had garlic haricot vert and mashed cauliflower on the side. I would have tried the mashed rutabaga if I had waited for that post. I don’t know if I can even find rutabaga at my neighborhood market. I can find all kinds of crazy tropical roots, veggies and fruits and if I were more adventurous in the kitchen I would try some of them.

    So, I think I had a point somewhere….ahhhh yes. SAD. I suffered from it when I lived up north and I have it here in reverse in South Florida. I have condo (as opposed to cabin) fever as I type. So much rain and heat and humidity turn me into a hermit. I am so anxious for winter that I draw the drapes, turn the A/C down as far as my penny pinching conscience will allow and make some nice autumnal comfort food.

    So, thanks for the recipe or at least the inspiration for a really great cool (even though only artificially) weather dinner.

    • Hi Kate. Glad you liked the pork (your take on it sounds delicious and yes, I’m the same, can never leave a recipe ‘as is’). Totally with you on the humidity thing. Sadly the summer here does turn us into air conditioning addicts. Not so great when the bills come in. On the other hand, I moan in the winter when the’chilly’ trade winds get going so perhaps I’m just one of life’s moaners 🙂

Leave a Reply

