Mango Chicken Curry

served it with a rice and quinoa mix

The plan was to save this post for next week and give you guys n’ gals a dessert-type recipe today.

But then I tasted this curry and was so genuinely excited to share it that I impatiently plonked it on the site right away.

I’ve made many curries in my time (student living’ll do that to you) but this is a rare departure from the norm for me.

ginger, garlic, chili and onion – the cornerstones of any good curry

Usually I regard any use of fruit in savoury dishes as freakish and monstrous.

However it works here. Truth be told, you hardly notice the fruit. It provides a very subtle sweet flavour without resorting to sugar.

I have a ‘curry’ spoon ie the one that’s stained a delightful turmeric yellow

And it’s just as tasty cold – I ate it for breakfast the next day, straight out of the fridge.

(fridge grazing, now there’s another throwback to my student days).

a welcome change from bacon n’ eggs

Mango Chicken Curry (serves 2)

  • 1 large skinless, boneless chicken breast, cut into small chunks
  • 1 small red onion, finely chopped
  • 1 medium sized mango, peeled and diced
  • 1 tsbp butter or coconut oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tbsps fresh cilantro, roughly chopped
  • 1 tsp tumeric
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1 tbsp fresh ginger, grated
  • 1 bird’s eye chili, finely chopped
  • 4 tbsps lime juice (about the juice of a whole lime)
  • 1/2 can coconut milk
  1. Over a medium heat, gently saute the onion, garlic and chili in butter/coconut oil.
  2. Stir in the turmeric, ginger, cumin, lime juice and half the mango pieces. Pour in the coconut milk and 1 tbsp of cilantro. Simmer for 10 mins.
  3. Remove from the heat and pour into a blender, blend until smooth.
  4. Transfer back into the pan and add the chicken pieces. Gently heat for 10 minutes or until chicken is cooked through. Stir in the rest of the mango chunks and cilantro then serve immediately.

Like this? You might also like:

This was shared at The Healthy Home Economist.

25 thoughts on “Mango Chicken Curry

  1. Pingback: Mango Chicken Curry « The Home Vegetable Gardener Blog

  2. Pingback: Whole Roasted Masala Chicken | Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Jerk-Spiced Chicken Thighs | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Creamy Curried Chicken Salad | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Vegetable Biryani | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Tom Kha Gai Soup for Dummies | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: Coconut Chana Saag | Things My Belly Likes

  8. Pingback: Korma Chicken Casserole | Things My Belly Likes

  9. Pingback: Ground Beef Vindaloo | Things My Belly Likes

  10. Pingback: Butter Chicken | Things My Belly Likes

  11. Pingback: 28 Great Paleo Chicken Curry Recipes

  12. Pingback: Coconut & Cashew Chicken Curry | Things My Belly Likes

  13. Pingback: Mango Chicken Curry | Pep's Free From Kitchen

Leave a Reply

