Liver & Bacon Meatballs

you almost don’t taste the liver…almost

Liver is icky, no getting around it.

But as I lengthily explained last week, it’s something I really want to include in my diet for health reasons.

When I was little my mother fried it up with bacon and onions but I’d always push it around my plate without eating any.

healthy b-vitamins await!

Then, when I started cooking for myself, it was never even on the radar.

I’m determined to correct that now and I figure the best way to outsmart my belly (which has its own kind of low cunning) is to sneak it into flavoursome foods which might disguise the taste.

gratuitous bacon shot

These meatballs combine the good meaty tastes of bacon and ground beef with the bleurgh-it-tastes-like-something-pooped-then-died-in-my-mouth taste of liver.

The definitive test was hubs. I decided not to tell him there was liver in his meatballs (he feels the same way I do about it).

Dog had his wide-eyed crazed junkie stare going on by this point

Normally I’m not an advocate of deceiving your significant other but this was in the interest of science…or food….whatever, it’s good for him.

He took a bite, then another…and then another. Before I could ask “how are your balls honey?”, he’d devoured the whole plate.

ALL the balls!

And if that’s not the measure of success, I don’t know what is.

Liver & Bacon Meatballs (makes 8)

  • 1lb ground beef
  • 1/4 lb calf’s liver
  • 5 rashers streaky bacon
  • 1/2 large, white onion, finely chopped
  • 1 tbsp fresh parsley, finely chopped
  • salt and pepper
  1. Either chop the liver very finely or do what I did and process it in a food processor til mushy.
  2. Put the ground meat, liver, onion, parsley in a large mixing bowl, season and stir well.
  3. Fry or grill the bacon until crispy (keep your bacon fat, it’s great for cooking!). Finely chop it and add to the meat mix. Stir.
  4. Grab a handful of the mix and form it into meatballs.
  5. If you have time, cover and chill them in the fridge for 30 minutes. This will ensure they retain their shape.
  6. Grill or broil for 20mins, turning halfway through so they brown on both sides. Alternatively you could fry them in coconut oil, whatever floats your boat!

Like this? You might also like:

This post was shared at The Healthy Home Economist.

20 thoughts on “Liver & Bacon Meatballs

  1. I thought U were my friend, but you ruined BACON….the most gorgeously magically delicious food on earth, by adding LIVER??????????

  2. I don’t mind the taste of liver; the texture is more what gets me…but this looks great! I have a ton of leftover bacon after an Epic Mealtime-style bacon weaving activity (yeah, I have weird hobbies) and lots of liver in the freezer…I know what’s on the menu for tomorrow night!

      • I know- it combines my love of bacon and textiles! 🙂 Check out Epic Mealtime on YouTube- you may have to set aside your love of real food to appreciate these kind of vulgar, fast-food-filled food extravaganzas, but they are definitely amusing! The video for “Fast Food Fluffy Cake” includes a bacon weaves, as do many of their other ones!

  3. Thank you for this recipe! I have been wanting to add liver to my diet, but I agree that the taste is “like-something-pooped-then-died-in-my-mouth”…LOL (great description).

  4. I remember when I was younger my mother would fry up (in a cast iron skillet) liver, onions, mushrooms, and green peppers. She would also drown it in butter. I ate every bite. As I got older I couldn’t get past the smell. Even with the budget friendly price I could never bring myself to eat it again after the age of 20. Now at 37 you may have just given me hope for a nutritious childhood treat. (I won’t be able to tell my hubs what’s in it, but it won’t be the first time I have tricked him and won!)

    • The things we do to keep our menfolk healthy eh?! All for a good cause 🙂 Liver drowning in butter and veggies does sound pretty good but I think the bacon is the real key. No one can turn down bacon. Hope you (and the hubby) enjoy the meatballs!

  5. I am one of those weird people who have always loved liver. I ate it as a kid, and then I stopped because of all the horrible stuff fed to cows. I do admit, the texture is quite gross, but liver with onions, add some grapes and bacon, splash of white wine, it’s delicious. I found a farmer who sells pastured beef, and I was back in business. It is one of the healthiest things you can eat, aside from egg yolks. However, getting my kids on board was a different matter. They love meatballs made with liver…..they can’t tell the difference. I will definitely try your recipe. It sounds yummy!

  6. Pingback: Trekker’s Journal #8: Primal Health & Fitness Week in Review » Primal journey | Primal Health | Fitness | Strength Training | Kevin's Trek

  7. Pingback: Jalapeno & Mozzarella Burgers | Things My Belly Likes

  8. Pingback: Mozzarella & Spinach Stuffed Meatballs | Things My Belly Likes

  9. Pingback: Chicken Liver & Tarragon Pate | Things My Belly Likes

  10. Pingback: Pan-fried Chicken Livers with Garlic & Shallots | Things My Belly Likes

  11. Pingback: Calf Liver & Beef Keema | Things My Belly Likes

  12. Pingback: Seared Chicken Livers | Things My Belly Likes

  13. Pingback: 63 Incredible Paleo Meatball Recipes

Leave a Reply

