Sour Cream Peppermint Brownies

add vanilla ice cream and I’m in heaven

These brownies remind me of my all-time favourite childhood indulgence (and the main reason I was on the chubby side as a kid) – mint chocolate ice-cream.

There’s just something about that flavour combo that gets my endorphins going.

remember to lick the bowl after you’ve used the contents, very important to get the order right

Pair it up with some coconut flour and sour cream and you got yourself a pretty delicious dessert or snack.

Coconut flour can dry out baked goods very quickly so it’s important not to either over-stir the batter or cook it too long.

they taste like mint aeros – did they sell mint aeros in the US?

Mine took 12 minutes to get to the ideal gooey-on-the-inside, firm-on-the-outside consistency.

If I were to write a Brownie Manifesto, Article 1(a) would be: good brownies should be as soft as they can be without collapsing.

the collective noun for brownies is a ‘cluster’ ie here’s a cluster of brownies

Perhaps one day I’ll get around to writing that masterpiece, in the meantime enjoy these delicious offerings as a preview.

Sour Cream Peppermint Brownies (makes about 24)

  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp peppermint extract
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3.5 oz/100g dark chocolate (I used 85%)
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 5 eggs
  • 1/3 cup sour cream
  1. Using a double boiler (place a glass bowl over a saucepan of bubbling water) melt the chocolate, butter and honey together until liquid. Remove from the heat, set aside and stir in the vanilla and peppermint extracts.
  2. Sieve the coconut flour, cocoa powder and baking powder into a large mixing bowl.
  3. If your chocolate is cool by now, beat in the sour cream, followed by the eggs.
  4. Gradually pour the chocolate goo into the flour mix and stir until it forms a semi-runny batter.
  5. Pour into an 11in x 9in lined or greased baking tray. Bake at 375 for 12-15 mins ’til firm but with a bit of give.
  6. Leave to cool before cutting and serving.

Like this? You might also like:

This post also appeared at the Healthy Home Economist’s Monday Mania.

15 thoughts on “Sour Cream Peppermint Brownies

  1. Pingback: Lemon Curd Brownies | Things My Belly Likes

  2. Pingback: Batty Beet Brownies | Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Mint & Cucumber Smoothie | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Dark Chocolate Brownies with Strawberry Goat Cheese Swirl | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Seared Peaches with Spiced Sour Cream | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Hello again! I just love your site! No more searching, searching for recipes that are anywhere near close to meeting my dietary challenges! (and taste preferences!) It started with your blueberry pie and I’m so excited to try so many of your recipes…time challenge…accepted! 😉
    Question with this one: If not wanting the peppermint (I know, right?) what would be the best alternative? Double the vanilla?
    Tks!

    • Hey Blu, glad to see you are enjoying the site 🙂 If I were in your mint-hating shoes, I’d simply leave it out altogether. You’ll still end up with a rich, cakey, chocolately brownie and that’s a win right there. Hope they do the trick!

  7. Pingback: Peppermint Eggnog | Things My Belly Likes

  8. Pingback: 20 Paleo Brownie Recipes

  9. Pingback: Banana Hemp Brownies | Things My Belly Likes

  10. Pingback: Double Chocolate Chip Power Bars | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

