Chocolate Hazelnut Cookies

chocolate + chia seeds + nuts = yum!

Hubs and I are jetting off for a weekend break very soon and I’m thinking travel snacks.

(well, I’m actually thinking sun, sand, turquoise waters and drinks with tiny umbrellas in them, but snacks are in the mix too)

Yes, I am that woman, the one who’s purse always contains food.

heart healthy hazelnuts

This is probably also because I’m the woman who, when her blood sugar drops, turns into a raging, homicidal beast devouring everything in her path.

I’ve found out the hard way that it pays to be prepared and these chocolate cookies are perfect travel-friendly snackage.

confession: I licked the bowl…and the spoon

Made with coconut flour and almonds, they’re gluten-free. And they contain the health community’s darling of the moment: chia seeds.

The Aztecs were big on Chia seeds. They believed they sustained warriors for long journeys and battles. They also used them to treat joint pain.

I am the cookie monster

Rich in Omega 3s, calcium, magnesium, iron and zinc, they are just all-round awesome.

Chocolate Hazelnut Cookies (makes around 12)

  • 1/4 cup coconut flour
  • 1/4 cup almond flour (or ground almonds)
  • 4 tsbps butter
  • 2 tbsps blackstrap molasses (you can use honey if you’ve no molasses)
  • 3 large eggs
  • 3.5 oz dark chocolate (I used 88% but if you like your cookies on the sweet side, go for around 60-70% dark)
  • 1/2 cup raw, unsalted hazelnuts, broken into pieces
  • 1/2 cup chia seeds
  1. Using a double boiler (heat some water in a pan, place a glass bowl over the pan), melt the chocolate, butter and molasses together.
  2. Once it’s melted and thick, set aside to cool.
  3. Sieve the coconut flour into a large mixing bowl. Stir in the almond flour.
  4. Whisk the eggs into the chocolate goo (it should be cooled so the eggs don’t cook) until smooth and silky. Pour this into the flours and stir until it forms a wet, sticky batter.
  5. Fold in the hazelnuts and chia seeds.
  6. Dollop it by the tbsp on to a lined baking tray, putting each tbsp slightly apart from its neighbours as they will spread slightly.
  7. Bake at 375 for 10-12 mins.

Like this? You might also like:

15 thoughts on “Chocolate Hazelnut Cookies

  1. I know what you mean about the low-blood-sugar rage. I also become nuts in that situation. No pun intended. Sorry. I just bought some chia seeds, and now I have two recipes to try, thanks!

  2. Yes I am that woman too – always have snacks in my car, purse, or desk. I will have to add these to my recipe list. Thanks for sharing!

  3. I’m going to use your recipe as a baseline for some cookies, I think I’ll add some cocoa powder and use toffee bits and walnuts instead of hazlenuts. Also don’t have any chia seed on hand. I was lookking for a paleo cookie recipe that had eggs in it, I’ll let you know how they turn out!

    • They’re in the oven now. Added in 1-2 TBS of instant coffee,, 1/3 cup cocoa powder, 1/4 tsp real vanilla, 1/2 tsp baking soda. I used toffee bits and chopped walnuts instead of chia seeds and hazlenuts and for the chocolate I used Ghiradelli 60% dark bittersweet chocolate. 🙂 The batter tastes good, so I’m sure the cookies will be too. YUM!

  4. They came out great! Nice and moist, puffy and delicious! Cooke at 375 for 14 minutes. My non-paleo roommate loves them!

  5. Pingback: Maple Leaf Cookies (flourless and dairy-free!) | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Spiced Christmas Cookies | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

