Avocado Nicoise Salad

light lunch? don’t mind if I do!

The basic elements of a Nicoise Salad are tuna, potatoes, eggs and olives (at least according to the ones I’ve eaten).

This can be pretty unappetising though – seriously, cold boiled potatoes? In a salad?

nutritional powerhouses

I love potatoes but there have to be limits…limits people!

And that’s why my version replaces potatoes with avocados. Much heart healthier!

I ate it for breakfast…I regret nothing!

They are a great creamy addition to balance out all that protein.

Eat it from the bowl, put it in a wrap or serve with a green salad. Just make sure it gets in your mouth.

to save washing up, I like to put it in a bowl and eat with a spoon

Avocado Nicoise Salad (serves 2-3)

  • 1 can tuna (if you can afford it, it’s worth splashing out for a good brand. I used Wild Planet sustainably caught)
  • 1 cup black olives, pitted
  • 1 green onion, finely chopped
  • 3 hard-boiled eggs, peeled and cut into wedges
  • 5 sundried tomatoes, cut into thin strips
  • 1/2 ripe, hass avocado, cut into chunks
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp EVOO
  • 1 tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  1. In a bowl, mix together the onion, tomato, avocado and olives.
  2. In a separate bowl whisk together the olive oil, vinegar, lemon juice and garlic.
  3. Add the dressing to the avocado mix and stir well.
  4. Stir in the tuna and then the eggs. Don’t mix too much once the eggs are in or they’ll break apart.
14 thoughts on “Avocado Nicoise Salad

  1. This was so delicious! I did substitute fresh cherry tomatoes because they have been so perfect this year. Took out the juice and seeds. Thanks for the idea!!

  2. Pingback: Avocado Nicoise Salad | Get Paleo

  3. Pingback: Chickpea & Goji Salad | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Smoked Mackerel Superfood Salad | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Celery & Parmesan Salad | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: The Best Tuna Salad. Ever. | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: Cajun Cobb Salad | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

