Easy Carrot Fries

life lesson #347: anything roasted in fat tastes good

If you have kids/significant others at home who won’t eat their vegetables, this recipe is for them.

Side note: I’m baffled by people who airly proclaim: “I don’t like vegetables.”

Really?! Every single one of the vegetables on God’s green earth, cooked every conceivable way and you don’t like any of them?? Really?

peeled, chopped and ready for action

Not me. Right up there in my list of favourite foods are brussel sprouts, broccoli, sweet potato and carrot.

Carrot mashed, steamed, boiled or roasted.

carrots are good for your skin, eyes, hair, nails and adrenals

And that leads me to these excellent fries (or chips as I’d say at home).

Just a touch of coconut oil, some thyme and some seasoning….voila, things that look like fries but without the transfats, GM potatoes and MSG flavouring that seems to be a prerequisite of fries these days.

Easy Carrot Fries (serves 2)

  • 4 large carrots
  • 2 tbsps coconut oil
  • 1 tsp thyme
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp ground black pepper
  1. Peel your carrots and then cut them into long, thin batons.
  2. In a bowl, drizzle over the oil and stir until the batons are coated.
  3. Sprinkle over the thyme, salt and pepper. Mix well.
  4. Turn out onto a lined baking tray and bake at 400 for 20 mins.

Like this? You might also like:

29 thoughts on “Easy Carrot Fries

  1. YUM! I love sweet potato fries and have seen a few recipes for roasted carrots of some sort, but haven’t tried any myself. I always buy carrots to use in broth but rarely cook them up on their own. This looks like a great way to prevent a few from quietly shriveling up in the fridge drawers when I’m not paying attention.

  2. Pingback: Balsamic Roasted Parsnips | Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Thanksgiving Recipe Round-Up | Things My Belly Likes

      • Thanks for replying 🙂 these were just spectacularly delicious! I also threw in a few pods of raw garlic with the carrots n we fought over who gets the roasted garlic 😀 garlic makes everything better, no?

  4. Pingback: Spicy Parsnip Wedges | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Garlic Ketchup | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Butternut Squash Chips | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: Jerk-style Plantain Fries | Things My Belly Likes

  8. Pingback: Homestyle Baked Jicama Fries | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

