Tilapia & Strawberry Salsa

I love it when dinner is this colourful

The berry love continues here on TMBL with a great pairing – meaty Tilapia fillets with a zingy strawberry salsa.

Strawberries? In salsa? I haven’t lost my mind, honest. It really does work.

must. not. eat. the. strawberries

The sweetness of the fruit combined with a spicy jalapeno, a drizzling of lime juice and some chopped onion (drooling yet? I am).

tomatoes need not apply

All that lends itself perfectly to a bland, white fish like Tilapia.

I know, I know. I swore off fish but, in my defence, there’s about a gazillion fillets hanging out in our freezer and if there’s one thing I hate more than radioactive fish, it’s waste.

this’ll cure what ails you

Tilapia Fillets & Strawberry Salsa (serves 2)

  • 2 tilapia fillets
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1 tsps lemon juice
  • 5 large strawberries, de-topped and finely chopped
  • 1 tbsp finely chopped white onion
  • 2 tsps lime juice
  • 1 tsp red wine vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp grated ginger
  • 1 jalapeno pepper, finely chopped
  1. Mix the strawberries, onion, jalapeno, ginger, lime juice and red wine vinegar together. Stir well and let sit in the fridge for at least 15 mins so the flavours can mingle.
  2. Generously season each fillet, pour lemon juice over both and place 1/2 tbsp of butter on each. Bake at 375 for 15mins ’til fish turns opaque and flakes easily.
  3. Serve with a spoonful of salsa.

Like this? You might also like:

10 thoughts on “Tilapia & Strawberry Salsa

  1. Perfect … I actually have a piece of tilapia in the fridge for dinner tonight. I didn’t know what I was going to do with it … until now! Thanks … I’m going to pick up strawberries at luch. 🙂

  2. Hi! Well, I must tell you I made this last night and I LOVED LOVED LOVED it! It was so quick and easy and so delicious! I have some salsa left so I’m trying it on grilled salmon tonight.

    Would you mind if I post this recipe sometime, linking to your blog?

  3. Pingback: Seared Swordfish Steaks with Lemon Cashew Crust | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Tilapia with Strawberry Salsa – You Must try it to Believe It | Pasta Princess and More

  5. Pingback: Strawberry Cobbler | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Mango Mint Salsa | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: Tilapia with Strawberry Salsa | frugalfoodienyc

Leave a Reply

