Spicy Butternut Squash Soup

if you’re ok with dairy, spoon some sour cream/yoghurt on top

If you’re thinking “soup? it’s winter for pity’s sake?!” then I’m with you (and I also commend you on your choice of expletives).

Yes, this might seem like an unusual choice for summer but, in my defence, there was a storm raging outside as I made this and the rain streaking down the windows really put me in the mood for a good belly-warming soup.

the seeds can be baked and eaten later – they’re full of fibre

Just cos it’s August doesn’t mean it ain’t cold somewhere…am I right?!

Also we rarely eat butternut squash. In fact, I’ve never cooked with it before. It could even have been a candidate for the Creative Kitchen Challenge.

it’s easier if you cut from the fleshy side rather than the just-peeled side

But I want to introduce more of it to our diet because it’s loaded with Vitamin A and doesn’t do too badly on the fibre and  B-Vitamins front either.

Here I’ve gone for bird’s eye chilis because they pack a punch considering their tiny size, and added cumin and allspice giving it an almost Indian taste.

belly like

In other words, just the thing for when the thunder is booming, the lightning is crashing and the dog is just seconds away from peeing on the carpet in fear.

Spicy Butternut Squash Soup (serves 4)

  • 1 large butternut squash, peeled, de-seeded and diced
  • 1 white onion, finely chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 bird’s eye chilis, finely chopped (watch your hands!)
  • 3 cups vegetable stock or broth
  • 2 tbsps butter or olive oil
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp allspice
  • salt and pepper
  1. Heat the butter in a large saucepan and add the garlic, onion and chili pepper. Saute for five minutes.
  2. Add the butternut squash and spices. Stir well and leave for a minute while the flavours mingle.
  3. Season generously with salt and pepper.
  4. Pour in the veg stock. Cover, bring to a boil and then reduce the heat to let it simmer for 30 minutes.
  5. Transfer to a blender and blend ’til smooth.
  6. Serve.

Like this? You might also like:

12 thoughts on “Spicy Butternut Squash Soup

  1. Looks great! And I’m actually a soup all year round kind of gal. (Though I pry do make it more in the winter…)

  2. Pingback: Chicken & Sweet Potato Chowder | Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Fiery Squash Chili | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Tomato, Basil & Garlic Soup | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Thanksgiving Recipe Round-Up | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Rosemary Butternut Squash Hash | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: Parsnip, Carrot & Apple Soup | Things My Belly Likes

  8. Pingback: Pumpkin, Sweet Potato & Cheddar Soup | Things My Belly Likes

  9. Pingback: Butternut Squash Chips | Things My Belly Likes

  10. Pingback: Fennel & Parsley Stuffed Butternut Squash | Things My Belly Likes

  11. Pingback: Butternut Squash, Bacon & Goat’s Cheese Salad | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

