Honey Garlic Chicken Wings

have napkins on hand cos these guys are sticky

Wings are not my favourite part of the chicken.

I can’t help thinking of tiny chicken elbows every time I see them.

Hubs however loves his meat and has no such culinary hang-ups.

do chickens even need elbows?

So, putting aside my distaste for arm parts, I decide to rustle up a summer BBQ treat for him. These would be great if you’re planning a get together or just something light for dinner.

I did mine under the grill since our BBQ has decided, now that summer is here, to go on some sort of strike. Despite cajoling, bribing (“if you’ll just stay lit for this one thing, we’ll clean the meat goo off you more frequently…promise”) and threats (“If you don’t get this steak done, we’re taking you to the dump where you’ll have to pay protection money to unhinged freezers“) it refuses to work.

They came out great regardless – sticky, tender and delicious.

Who knew elbows could taste so good?!

just out of shot: the caesar salad

Honey Garlic Chicken Wings (serves 3-4)

  • 2 tbsps sesame oil
  • 2.5 tsbps honey
  • 3 large cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp red pepper flakes
  • salt and pepper
  • around 18 chicken wings
  1. Mix the oil, honey, garlic, red pepper and salt and pepper together. Pour half the mixture over the wings and stir until they are thoroughly coated. Let marinate for 2-3 hours.
  2. Spread the wings over a lined or greased baking tray and place under the grill/boiler for 30 minutes until they go nice and crispy.
  3. NB: Turn them frequently during the cooking and baste generously with the remaining liquid.

Like this? You might also like:

16 thoughts on “Honey Garlic Chicken Wings

      • Thank you for your kind message Cat. Yes, it was a beautiful day today, I hopped into the next supermarket to by chicken wings and sesam oil. And it was quite funny too, because I need almost half an hour to find sesam oil between the thousands bottles of olive oils… 🙂 I will write you wether I have succeeded. Bye for now, Katharina

  1. Pingback: Sticky BBQ Drumsticks | Things My Belly Likes

  2. Pingback: Buffalo Wings & Blue Cheese Dip | Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Carolina Style Drumsticks | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Mint & Cumin Dip | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

