Blueberry Pie

serve with ice cream or whipped cream…and don’t forget the extra blueberries!

Ever since the summer started, I’ve been OD-ing on blueberries.

I’ve always loved them. Ever since reading that iconic scene from Charlie & The Chocolate Factory when I was little.

generally the rule is: the more colourful the food, the better it is for you

The one where offensive gum-chewer Violet Beauregarde grabs experimental blueberry gum and turns into….a giant blueberry.

you can lick the bowl afterwards, I won’t tell

Judging by the amount of blueberries I’ve been troughing recently, I’m just one pie away from becoming a giant blueberry myself.

Totally worth it though.

polka dot pie!

Blueberries are the over-achievers of the berry world, ranked as having one of the highest antioxidant contents of all fruit and veg.

This little miracle berry has been known to improve cognitive function (that’s brain power, for those who haven’t had their blueberries lately), fight cancer and reduce inflammation.

suffice to say, it didn’t last long

Think about all that while chowing down on this pie and any dessert-related guilt will melt away.

Blueberry Pie

*adapted from Kiss My Spatula

Filling:

  • 1pt fresh blueberries
  • 1/3 cup heavy cream
  • 2/3 cup sour cream
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 tbsps honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Crust:

*adapted from The Coconut Mama

  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 3/4 cup coconut flour
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tbsp honey
  1. Start with the crust and whisk together the butter, eggs and honey.
  2. Sieve the coconut flour into a large mixing bowl. Add the salt.
  3. Stir the wet ingredients into the dry until it comes together.
  4. Press into a well-greased 9in pie dish. Prick the bottom. Put into the fridge to chill for 10 mins.
  5. While it’s chilling, get started on the filling. Whisk the honey, egg, sour cream, heavy cream and vanilla together.
  6. Pour into the pie crust.
  7. Scatter the blueberries on top until the pie is covered.
  8. Bake at 375 for 30 mins or ’til set. Leave to cool, then put in the fridge until needed.

Like this? You might also like:

This post also appeared at Food Renegade and The Healthy Home Economist.

18 thoughts on “Blueberry Pie

  1. It’s gluten-free?! This is like heaven! I haven’t had pie in over a year and this looks seriously amazing. I OD’d on bluberries last summer but trust me, it is SOOOO worth it. 😉 Thanks for posting this one, I’m doing a happy dance now!

  2. Pingback: Tilapia & Strawberry Salsa « Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Chocolate Sweet Potato Pie | Things My Belly Likes

  4. So excited about blueberry season here in the Michigan/Indiana area, made this pie today and had a few questions.

    1) 375? Is my oven broken? I baked as instructed for 30 minutes in a pre-heated oven and still had a seriously jiggly center, so I let it bake until it stopped jiggling… which was another 30 minutes. What’d I do wrong?

    2) Is there supposed to be a lot of liquid? I cut out a piece – which ended up being more like spooning out, because of the pudding-like consistency – and the space where that piece had been filled up with… water? Juice from the berries? Help?

    It was still delicious, just wondering what I did wrong!

    • Hi Kaly. Sorry you didn’t have a great result with the pie (there’s nothing worse than a disappointing pie). I have a few thoughts to add – my oven is quite small and very efficient so it tends to bake quickly. I’m also at a very low altitude (my Caribbean island is practically underwater) which can affect baking times.
      My pie came out like a quiche consistency. I would say that letting it cool helps it set and even sticking it in the fridge for a few hours would help that process along. Sorry I can’t be more help! Cat

Leave a Reply

