Strawberry Creme Brulee

creamy, sweet and rich

Creme Brulee pushes all the right buttons for me.

It’s exactly how I like my desserts: creamy, sweet and silky.

if you can, please buy organic. Strawberries get pesticide-dumped more than most veg/fruit

And the good news is that if you use cream from grass-fed cows, organic eggs and a sugar that isn’t highly processed, this can actually be a very nutrient-dense dessert.

the strawberry layer

On a separate note, I don’t know anyone that owns a tiny brulee blow torch (clearly I’m not moving in the right circles) but if you do, now’s the time to use it.

covering the strawberry layer so it surprises you later

Just sprinkle some brown sugar over the top of the brulee and then set to work. You can also stick it under the grill to brown it off and get that carmelised sugar high.

just about to hit the oven. Did I mention already how creamy it is?

I didn’t bother. Over the years that I’ve been cleaning up my diet and eating better, I notice that my sweet tooth is getting less sweet. It takes much less sugar to satisfy now, which can only be a good thing.

post oven

Strawberry Creme Brulee (serves 2-3, I made mine in a 24oz dish, rather than individual ramekins)

  • 10 strawberries, hulled and diced
  • 1 tsbp water
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 tsp arrowroot powder
  • 3 egg yolks
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1/4 cup coconut palm sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  1. Heat the strawberries, water and honey in a saucepan over a high heat for 10 mins. They should break down into a bubbling, mushy liquid. Process or mash the strawberries to get a smoother texture (I just used a standard potato masher cos the thought of cleaning up the food processor depressed me thoroughly. Domestic goddess fail).
  2. Remove from heat and sieve in the arrowroot powder. Stir well until it thickens.
  3. Pour paste into your creme brulee dish or ramekins so it forms a layer along the bottom. Transfer to fridge to chill for 10 mins.
  4. Beat together the egg yolks, sugar and vanilla.
  5. Heat the cream until it is warm to the touch then whisk it into the egg yolk mixture.
  6. Pour the resulting liquid over the strawberry liquid in your dish.
  7. Put the dish into a shallow baking tray full of hot water. The water should reach to at least halfway on your creme brulee (this water bath helps it cook evenly).
  8. Bake for 30-40 mins at 400. You’ll know it’s done when the centre is set.
  9. Let cool then transfer to the fridge and chill until needed.

Like this? You might also like:

This post also appeared on the Healthy Home Economist, and Food Renegade.

14 thoughts on “Strawberry Creme Brulee

  1. YUM! I just got some raw, grassfed cow cream in my milk coop this week! And lovely farm eggs. AND I have a creme brulee torch. Could it get any better?? Thanks!

  2. Pingback: Coffee Creme Brulee | Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Strawberry & Mint Infused Water | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

