Roast Pork with Apple Thyme Sauce

it’s strange how the savoury and sweet go together but they do, oh yes, they do

It’s been said before but I really do love my thyme plant.

It sits there in the backyard, uncomplaining. The sole survivor from my early experiments with gardening.

in the TMBL household, we eat greens with our meat

This thyme is like a miracle in fact. The hardy plant has overcome pests, drought and severe inattention. Throughout all the hardships it survives (mmm…seems like there’s a lesson there).

the sauce, in its early stages

So I am repaying this stoicism by ripping off its fuzzy, fragant leaves and stuffing them into as many recipes as possible.

here’s another look, just in case you didn’t catch it first time around

Today it’s pork and this beautifully sweet, light sauce is a great accompaniment to the meat.

Especially if, like me, you’re a recovering vegetarian and there are some dishes that are still too…meaty…for your palate.

Roast Pork with Apple Thyme Sauce (serves2)

  • 113g pork tenderloin
  • 1/4 cup EVOO or melted butter
  • 1 granny smith (or similar sour green) apple, peeled and very finely chopped
  • 2 tsps (or about 5 leaves) fresh thyme, finely chopped
  • 1 tsp lemon zest
  • 2 tbsps water
  1. Put pork in a baking dish then pour the butter or olive oil (making sure both sides are coated) and generously season.
  2. Bake at 450 for 30 minutes, depending on the thickness of your tenderloin.
  3. To make the sauce, heat the apple, thyme, lemon zest and water over a low heat for 15 minutes, cover and stirΒ  occasionally. The apples should break down to form a paste. Keep it warm and serve over pork.

Like this? You might also like:

19 thoughts on “Roast Pork with Apple Thyme Sauce

  1. I love apple with pork tenderloin. I adapted a stuffed tenderloin recipe with leek and apple and make a sauce, like yours, to serve on the side/top of tenderloin or chops. Leek + apple + thyme = good combo.

  2. Pingback: Spicy Cajun Pork Medallions « Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Sausage & Apple Casserole | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Roast Pork Marilyn Munroe | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Pork Tenderloin with Basil Cream Sauce | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Thanksgiving Recipe Round-Up | Things My Belly Likes

  7. mmmm, oh this sounds great! I love pork and apple anything. In fact, I’m making my favorite pork and apple recipe tomorrow. I will have to try this one next!

  8. Pingback: Coffee Rubbed Roast Pork | Things My Belly Likes

  9. Pingback: Pepita Pesto Stuffed Pork Chops | Things My Belly Likes

  10. Pingback: Pork with Sage & Mushroom Sauce | Things My Belly Likes

  11. Pingback: Chinese Five-Spice Pork | Things My Belly Likes

  12. Pingback: Cajun Rubbed Pork Tenderloin | Things My Belly Likes

  13. Pingback: Smothered Pork Loin | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

