Pineapple and Lime Granita

I served it in a wine glass and resisted the temptation to pour rum over it (go me!)

The secret to a good granita is in the forking (and if that sounds dirty, it’s cos I meant it to).

Because granita, despite the fancy name, is really just flavoured ice (or, to put it another way, sorbet) and to make those tiny ice crystals form, you have to fork the liquid as it freezes to break it down.

fun fact: I’ve a friend who says pineapples make her tongue bleed

This particular incarnation is a delicious summery alternative to ice cream (yep, I know, ice cream doesn’t need an alternative but it’s good to change things up once in a while).

pouring it from blender into freezer-safe dish

Blended pineapple, lime juice and a tiny sprinkling of sugar makes for a surprisingly light dessert.

The only downside is that it’s best made on a day when you’ve plenty of time – mine took around 6 hours to fully set, with vigorous forking action every hour or so.

giving it a good forking

Pineapple and Lime Granita

  • 1 large pineapple
  • the juice of two limes
  • 2 tsps coconut palm sugar
  • 1/2 cup water
  1. Blend all the above together. Pour into a shallow dish and put into the freezer.
  2. Remove from the freezer to fork it over every 45mins to an hour. When it reaches the desired consistency (mine took around 6 hours but it was in a dish about 2 inches deep), scoop into dishes and serve.

Like this? You might also like:

13 thoughts on “Pineapple and Lime Granita

    • Well I have to confess that it’s crossed my mind many times. In fact, I think I’m going to go for it as soon as I get my hands on another pineapple. Boozy fruit is the way forward 🙂

      • Yes! Especially in the heat, and you guys just got through a tropical depression, no? You’re in the islands, mon, have a drink and stick your toes in that gorgeous sand for me with your granita and rum!

      • Good for you. Enjoy before the next one comes around…hope there aren’t too many in August, cause that’s when I will be down there….. :s

  1. Pingback: Blackberry Terrine « Things My Belly Likes

  2. Pingback: Pink Grapefruit, Ginger & Strawberry Sorbet | Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: GF Thin Crust Hawaiian Pizza | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

