Bacon Wrapped Pork Tenderloin (with Pineapple Glaze)

I served it with roasted carrots, it was goooood

Today TMBL brings you some pig on pig action.

Yep, I took a pork tenderloin, wrapped it in bacon (cos all the best recipes begin with the words ‘bacon wrapped…’) and smothered it with a pineapple glaze.

The salty-sweet combo was a winner and the pork came out beautifully moist.

It’s a little intimidating to cook a tenderloin. At least it was for me.

let the slicing begin!

There’s a certain amount of prep work to be done with this particular hunk of meat – you need to gently pare off the silvery skin and make sure it is trimmed down before cooking.

Apparently the fat cooks at a different rate so it would mess up your careful timing and you’d end up with a half rare loin.

Another handy fact I learnt in the making of this meal is that pork is done once it reaches an inside temp of 145F to 150F (that’s 62 – 65 Celcius if, like me, you are Fahrenheit illiterate).

even more pork pics, I spoil you…I really do

I watched my loin (that sounds so filthy) like a hawk and it took 30 minutes to be just right. This was with a small cut of meat and a very efficient oven so consider yourselves warned. Times may need adjusting.

Bacon Wrapped Pork Tenderloin (serves 2 or one very hungry carnivore)

  • 113g pork tenderloin
  • 3 rashers streaky bacon
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil

The glaze:

  • 1/4 cup pineapple juice
  • 1/2 tsp yellow mustard
  • 1/2 tsp honey
  1. To make the glaze whisk together the pineapple juice, honey and mustard. Set aside ’til needed.

    the glaze, patiently waiting ’til needed

  2. Prepare your meat by gently paring the silvery skin off it. Season heavily with salt then heat the coconut oil in a frying pan to a very high heat. Sear the meat, browning it for a few minutes on each side.

    careful – oil spitting may occur

  3. Remove and brush generously with the glaze. Wrap carefully with the bacon. My joint was small so it took about three rashers. You want to completely cover the pork as the bacon will shrink during cooking.

    it’s like the pork’s wearing a bacon overcoat!

  4. Put in the oven at 450 and bake for 10 minutes. Remove, baste and put back in the oven for a further 15 minutes. Remove and check the temperature. If it’s reached around 150F, it’s fine just baste once more and let rest. If not, baste and put back in for 5 minutes.

    don’t be afraid to get very generous with the glaze

  5. Let it rest for 5-10 minutes before slicing.

Like this? You might also like:

16 thoughts on “Bacon Wrapped Pork Tenderloin (with Pineapple Glaze)

  1. Pingback: Pineapple and Lime Granita « Things My Belly Likes

  2. Pingback: Roast Pork with Apple Thyme Sauce « Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Spicy Cajun Pork Medallions « Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Roast Pork Marilyn Munroe | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Pork Tenderloin with Basil Cream Sauce | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Dublin Coddle | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: Grapefruit Glazed Pork | Things My Belly Likes

  8. Pingback: Seared Scallops with Bacon Mustard Sauce | Things My Belly Likes

  9. Pingback: Honey Mustard Pork Tenderloin | Things My Belly Likes

  10. Pingback: GF Thin Crust Hawaiian Pizza | Things My Belly Likes

  11. Pingback: Cajun Rubbed Pork Tenderloin | Things My Belly Likes

  12. Pingback: Pork Tenderloin with Sweet Oranges | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

