Parsley Pistacho Pesto

it’s so green I think I’ll make it again for St Paddy’s Day

Ever wanted to get something into your diet but held back because you hate it with a fiery passion and can’t bear the thought of cooking it, let alone eating it?!

Well that’s pretty much the way I feel about parsley.

parsley is high in calcium, iron and b-vits. It’s also a good diuretic

Despite being an over-achiever in the nutrition department, I just can’t bring myself to like parsley.  So I did what any reasonable person would do.

I teamed it up with something I love (pistachios) in the hope that it would all balance out, ying and yang style.

The pistachios here are the roasted and salted variety. I know they might seem too salty but don’t forget, you are shelling them and the resulting taste gives the pesto a nice tang.

I don’t have any health facts about pistachios, I just love ’em

You can slather this on toast, dollop it over fish or eat it with a spoon, straight from the bowl.

also goes well with salmon…

Parsley Pistachio Pesto (makes about 2 cups)

  • 1 1/2 cups fresh parsley
  • 1/4 cup parmesan, grated
  • 3 tbsps extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 cup roasted and salted pistachios, shelled
  1. Put all the ingredients into a blender. Process until well blended. It’s that easy!

    it will keep in the fridge for just under a week, and it freezes well

    Like this? You might also like:

This post was featured on the Healthy Home Economist.

23 thoughts on “Parsley Pistacho Pesto

  1. Funny how tastes go, I LOVE parsley, but it must be that I’ve been eating it as a salad since I can remember, in Taboule. I’m glad you found something that makes you love it! It looks great!

  2. Pingback: Tuna Tapenade « Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Satay Sauce « Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Lime & Mustard Mackerel Pate | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Bowl o’ Blood Hummus | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Broccoli Pesto (nut free) | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: Pistachio, Basil & Lemon Stuffing | Things My Belly Likes

  8. Pingback: Brussel Sprout, Goat’s Cheese & Pistachio Salad | Things My Belly Likes

  9. Pingback: Chunky Black Bean Hummus | Things My Belly Likes

  10. Pingback: Garlic Ketchup | Things My Belly Likes

  11. Pingback: Pesto Crusted Lamb | Things My Belly Likes

  12. Pingback: Easy Vanilla Almond Butter | Things My Belly Likes

  13. Pingback: Pepita Pesto (nut-free) | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

