Sweet n’ Salty Almonds

almonds are a good source of magnesium and vitamin E

We may as well get it out of the way now.

I’m going to say ‘nuts’ a lot in the post. If you’re anything like me, this will make you want to snigger childishly.

Get it all out of your system now…nuts, nuts, nuts!

There.

almonds can help you lose weight and they lower ‘bad’ cholesterol

Nuts are my go-to food when snackage is called for…which is pretty much every hour that my belly hasn’t been fed (it’s very demanding).

They’re gluten-free, healthy and very very satisfying.

greased up and ready for the baking

I’ve sexed up these almonds with a touch of sea salt, a dash of coconut oil and a smidgen of grade B maple syrup.

(By the way, I read an interesting article recently about how some suppliers are trying to pass off grade A as grade B.)

But I digress, I’m here to tell you about my nuts (there goes the sniggering again).

These are just the right blend of salty and sweet, the nuts get extra crunchy when baking and so you’re left with a crunchy salted caramel type snack…without the terrible sugar guilt.

And you have the added bonus of being able to ask: “anyone like some of my salty nuts?!”

I’m out of almond facts, except to say they are also a valuable source of protein

Salty n’ Sweet Almonds (makes 1/2 cup)

  • 1/2 cup raw almonds
  • 1/2 tsp coarse sea salt
  • 1 tsp coconut oil
  • 2 tsps dark/grade B maple syrup
  1. Toss all the above together in a bowl until the almonds are coated.
  2. Spread onto a lined baking tray and bake at 400 for 10 minutes. Let cool before eating.

Like this? You might also like:

10 thoughts on “Sweet n’ Salty Almonds

  1. Love the idea of the maple syrup! Have never tried that approach but I will now! (I too, LOVE nuts and they are one of my favorite go-to snack!)

  2. Pingback: Tips (and Recipes) for Gluten-free/Grain-free Travel « Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Satay Sauce « Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Easy Vanilla Almond Butter | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

