Chia Lemon Drizzle Cake

amazing with a nice cuppa

Back when I was young (a shamefully long time ago), I believed wholeheartedly that my mother knew everything about everything.

She knew the answer to every question I could pose: Why is there a sun? What are trees made of? Are there monsters underneath my bed?

In those blissfully naive times, I thought her genius was most evident in the kitchen because of one particular thing.

Lemon Drizzle Cake.

here she is again!

To my mind, it was nothing short of a miracle that she could walk into the kitchen and, 45 minutes later, produce a golden loaf of sweet lemony scented deliciousness.

I no longer think my mother is on a par with Einstein (although she holds her own) but I still think her lemon drizzle cake is a miracle.

almost all the loaf is gone now, it doesn’t hang around

I’ve modified the recipe slightly to make it gluten-free, using my old favourite baking staple, coconut flour, added chia seeds (these can be substituted with poppy if you don’t have chia) and cut back on the sugar (Mum, bless her, has a sweet tooth).

Despite the alterations, it still tastes almost exactly how I remember it.

Chia Lemon Drizzle Cake

  • 3/4 cup coconut flour
  • 5 large eggs
  • 3 lemons, zest and juice
  • 3 tbsps plain yoghurt
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup chia seeds
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil (or melted butter)
  • 1 tsp coconut palm sugar
  1. Whisk together the eggs, coconut oil, yoghurt and honey ’til smooth.
  2. Add the lemon zest and most of the juice, reserving a tbsp. Mix that tbsp with the tsp of sugar and set aside, you’ll need it later.
  3. Sieve the coconut flour into a large mixing bowl.
  4. Gradually pour the egg mixture into the coconut flour, stirring to form a semi-runny batter.
  5. Fold in the chia seeds and pour the batter into a greased loaf tin. Bake at 375 for 20 minutes.
  6. Remove from oven and make 4 to 6 vertical slits along the loaf.  Across these gently pour the lemon juice and sugar mix.

    with the precision of a surgeon

  7. Put it back in the oven and bake for a further 10 minutes. Remove and let cool completely before taking out of the tin.

    mid-morning tea break

Like this? You might also like:

This post was featured at The Healthy Home Economist and Kelly the Kitchen Kop.

60 thoughts on “Chia Lemon Drizzle Cake

  1. I will be making this for sure! Love the flavors lemon and poppy seed bring to the table. Are chia seeds a similar flavor to poppy? And are they found in a typical grocery store? Or?

  2. Oh, this sounds and looks so good. I’m only just learning to work with chia and have been actively collecting new recipes for it. I so look forward to trying this!

  3. It is still very moist, but I like it.. The only thing I don’t like so much is the slight ‘burned’ taste it has from the lemon j uice/sugar thingy. I had it in the oven for 5 min more and the cake turned out fine but the ‘juice’ on top doesn’t taste so good. Too bad, will make again and than do it slightly different ;). Thanks for the recipe anyway!!

    • ahahaha, this made me spit out my morning coffee. I’m not sure I’d really want random folk turning up day and night to peer through my kitchen window, shouting: “one order of lemon cake and a coke” but the money would be nice 🙂

  4. I want you to know that I am a fan of you and I made a slightly-modified version of this that turned out great! All credit went to you. Hope this is ok. 🙂 🙂 🙂

  5. Pingback: Lemon-Chia Tea Cakes « Veganmonologue

  6. Pingback: Chocolate Hazelnut Cookies | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: Think Thin Thursday! - Work It!

  8. This sounds great…I’m making it today! The best thing is I can give it to miss 9 year old for school where there is a ‘NO NUT’ policy (Grrr). Yay for this cake!!

  9. Pingback: Pear & Nutmeg Cupcakes | Things My Belly Likes

  10. Pingback: Brown Sugar Lemon Curd | Things My Belly Likes

    • Hi there and thanks for checking out the cake. I would be honoured to be featured on your blog – thanks for thinking of me 🙂 Hope your readers like it too!

  11. Pingback: Lemon Chia-seed Loaf (gluten-free) « Hearth in Hand

  12. Pingback: Flourless Chocolate Orange Cake | Things My Belly Likes

  13. Pingback: Lime & Coconut Cake | Things My Belly Likes

  14. Pingback: Guinness Chocolate Cake | Things My Belly Likes

  15. I just found this today. Any idea how to make this without the yogurt? This looks like a good item to take for a brunch.

    • Hi Marguerite. I’m assuming you can’t do dairy? If that’s the case I’d recommend trying it with coconut (or almond) milk. Just add it to the batter little by little until it reaches a semi-runny consistency. If you can do dairy, consider switching in sour cream instead. Hope that helps, Cat

  16. Pingback: Nutty Pecan Banana Bread | Things My Belly Likes

  17. Pingback: Orange Chocolate Chip Loaf Cake | Things My Belly Likes

  18. Pingback: Citrus Slaw | Things My Belly Likes

  19. Pingback: Chocolate & Coconut Chia Pudding | Things My Belly Likes

  20. Pingback: Chia Seed Breakfast Porridge | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

