Garden Pea, Feta & Mint Tart

it’s spotty! The child in me approves

Ah summer. How I love you.

Constant sweating, deafening thunderstorms, agonising sunburn and never-ending battles against the bug armies that want to make our house their stronghold, and us their POWs.

In the Caribbean summer is often the local’s least favourite season. Strange I know.

Thankfully, despite the long moany list above, I haven’t quite reached that stage. I still drop to my knees and thank my lucky stars every time sun appears (growing up in the UK’ll do that to you).

in all its pre-baking glory

So in celebration of summer here is a lovely summery evening type of dish.

I know some baulk at putting mint in savoury dishes but it’s very subtle here. Not overpowering at all and a nice complement to the strong feta and juicy peas.

Goes great with a fresh salad and a chilled glass of wine, not that I’m advocating heavy drinking – that’s not what summer is about. Not. At. All*

*That’s totally what summer is about, bring on the booze!

one pie, one plate..that’s how I roll

Garden Pea, Feta & Mint Tart (serves 6-8)

Crust:

  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3/4 cup coconut flour
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  1. Whisk together the eggs and butter.
  2. Sieve the coconut flour into a large mixing bowl. Add the salt.
  3. Gradually add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix until it forms a soft batter.
  4. Press this into a greased 9in pie dish. It won’t cooperate like regular dough, that’s ok. Just press it in with your hands until the dish is covered. Prick the base.
  5. Bake at 375 for 5 minutes. Remove and let cool while you sort out the filling.

Filling:

  • 4oz feta cheese, crumbled
  • 1 1/2 cups peas (I used frozen and defrosted beforehand)
  • 2 spring/green onions, finely chopped
  • 2 tbsps fresh mint leaves, chopped
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup plain yoghurt
  • salt and pepper
  1. Whisk the eggs, yoghurt and seasoning together. Stir in the peas, feta and onions.
  2. Fold in the mint and pour the whole mixture into your pie crust.
  3. Bake at 375 for 25-30 mins til firm. Let cool for a few minutes before slicing up.

Like this? You might also like:

21 thoughts on “Garden Pea, Feta & Mint Tart

  1. Pingback: Mint & Avocado Spinach Salad « Things My Belly Likes

  2. Pingback: Mint Chocolate Mousse « Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Smoked Salmon & Red Onion Quiche | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Mint & Cucumber Smoothie | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Taco Pie | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Spring Greens & Pea Soup | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: 13 Paleo Quiches with Grain-Free Crusts and No Dairy

  8. Pingback: 13 Paleo Quiches with Grain-Free Crusts and No Dairy | Get Fit Bookmark

  9. Pingback: Pi(e) = 2 | Thanksgiving Farms

  10. Pingback: Roasted Carrots & Peas | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

