Italian Meatballs & Creamy Tomato Sauce

you can’t beat the classics

Today’s recipe is a hubby special.

And by that I mean he requested it. It’s so rare that hubby makes a specific request when I’m meal planning that I feel duty bound to fufill it.

Plus I love to feed him, so there’s that.

my plate of balls [snigger]

The meatballs came together beautifully despite lacking breadcrumbs (I used ground flax seeds as a gluten-free binding agent) and the rich tomato sauce was heavenly – just the right amount of garlic, parsley, oregano and basil blending together, doing their thing.

Feel free to leave out the cream if you’re not a fan of dairy. The wonderful tomatoey taste will still be there.

saucy!

Italian Meatballs & Creamy Tomato Sauce (serves 3-4)

Sauce

  • 2 large tomatoes, finely chopped
  • 1 large onion, finely chopped
  • 4 tbsps tomato paste
  • 6 large leaves (around 3 tbsps) fresh basil, chopped
  • 2 tsps dried oregano
  • 2 large cloves of garlic, minced
  • 6 button mushrooms, finely chopped
  • a handful of fresh spinach
  • 2 tbsps EVOO
  • 2 tbsps water
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 tbsps heavy cream (optional)
  1. Gently fry the mushrooms, onion and garlic in olive oil for 3 minutes.
  2. Add the chopped tomatoes, tomato paste, water and herbs.
  3. Simmer over a medium-low heat for 20 minutes until it forms a thick sauce. If you are using cream, stir it in just before serving.

Meatballs (makes around 9)

  • 1lb ground beef
  • 1/2 large white onion, finely chopped
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/4 cup ground flax seeds
  • 1 tsp worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1 tsp basil
  • 1 tsp parsley
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  1. Mix all the ingredients together in a large bowl and form into small balls about an inch thick.
  2. If you have time, cover and chill them in the fridge for 30 minutes. If not then cook them straight away but be warned – chilling makes them hold together better.
  3. Bake at 400 for 15 minutes, turning once so they brown on both sides.
  4. Serve with sauce.

    spaghetti and parmesan optional (ha! as if cheese is ever optional)

Like this? You might also like:

22 thoughts on “Italian Meatballs & Creamy Tomato Sauce

  1. Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat.Com™ and commented:
    Being that I was born in Sicily, and raised in a Sicilian kitchen & spent all my formative years in that Sicilian kitchen….life is all about Spaghetti & meatballs. It takes me two days to cook a proper red sauce, I will try this one by Ms. Cat from “Things My Belly Likes” on Sunday, and report back just how good it is….or is not!!

  2. Pingback: Hearty Corned Beef Hash « Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Liver & Bacon Meatballs | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Sweet Potato Sloppy Joes | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Sounds good but I would leave out the oregano from both recpes. Oregano is very bitter and overpowering. The recipes don’t need it. I have been making my Italian-born mother in law’s authentic Italian recpe’s for 30 years. She was the best cook ever born, and I’m. Not exagerating. She always put milk/cream as well as a little butter in her sauce at the end but she only used oregano when making a sauce for pizza, never for a pasta sauce.

  6. Pingback: Classic Marinara Sauce | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: Ginger & Cilantro Meatballs | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

