Sauerkraut Brownies

dense and fudgy, the two top adjectives for brownies

Yep, I’m messing with brownies again.

It’s the last day of the Creative Kitchen Challenge and I’m going out with a bang.

You may remember that I challenged you to cook with at least one unfamiliar ingredient a day for a whole week. Well, this last effort’s mystery ingredient is sauerkraut, or pickled cabbage for those that aren’t au fait with their fermented foods.

Why pickle cabbage?

pickled cabbage!

Well because it gives the otherwise ordinary veg lots of lovely bacteria (don’t worry, they’re the friendly sort) which boost your immune system and keep your digestion ticking over comfortably.

Why put thatΒ in brownies?

I believe the probiotics are destroyed when cooked but still, you get the nutritious cabbage

Because I’m a dangerous madwoman.

Kidding! Sauerkraut is actually a lovely addition to baked desserts. The Germans have been stuffing it in chocolate cakes for centuries.

It gives the finished treat a moist, rich texture and, provided you rinse your cabbage very very well, there’s no sour ‘pickly’ taste.

pickled brownies taste gooood

Ingredient: Sauerkraut

Verdict: I’ve always loved sauerkraut but never cooked with it before. These were a pleasant surprise and something I’ll definitely make again when in a brownie mood (ie every damn weekend).

all they need is ice cream, lots of ice cream

Sauerkraut Brownies (makes 24)

  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 5 large eggs
  • 3 tbsps honey
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup sauerkraut
  1. Thoroughly rinse and drain your sauerkraut to remove the taste of vinegar. Finely chop it or put in a food processor and blitz for a few seconds. Set aside.
  2. Sieve the coconut flour, baking powder and cocoa powder into a large mixing bowl.
  3. In a separate bowl whisk together the eggs and honey. Stir in the melted butter (make sure it’s at room temperature – you don’t want to cook the eggs).
  4. Add the wet ingredients to the dry to form a runny batter. Gently fold in the sauerkraut.
  5. Smooth the batter into a greased or lined 8in x 8in baking dish.
  6. Bake at 375 for 20 minutes til firm. Remove and let cool before slicing.
So this is the end of the Challenge. What did you think of this week’s recipes? Did any inspire you? What’s been going on in your own kitchen? What are you cooking next?
Like this? You might also like:

Featured at the Healthy Home Economist

41 thoughts on “Sauerkraut Brownies

  1. That is really interesting. I’ve never actually had sauerkraut but I like other pickled things and I like cabbage so I’m fairly sure I would enjoy it. The name is just creepy. lol I wasn’t able to partake in your challenge, it’s been hectic with the move and managing to even just cook at home instead of breaking all the rules and eating out has been a challenge. But I think it’s a great idea to challenge yourself this way and I plan to in the future and will post about it when I do. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks for your support Jessica (and good luck with the move). The brownies don’t taste of pickles at all weirdly enough. The main contribution of the sauerkraut is the texture rather than taste.

  2. What in the world? I saw the heading and couldn’t believe it. I thought you were going to post a disaster for sure! It was good?!?!? I can’t imagine what that would taste like and don’t know if I dare to try it!

  3. I appreciate this. It reminds me of a great recipe I saw for a cake with mashed black-eye peas in it….it added moisture, made it more dense and nutritious. I’m all for serving up a dessert, then telling people “oh yea- guess what, there’s SAUERKRAUT in these!”

  4. Pingback: Sour Cream Peppermint Brownies | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Lemon Curd Brownies | Things My Belly Likes

  6. DEFINITELY going to try this!! I’m doing a month of strict no paleofying anything just for fun ( what.. thats not actual fun who am i kidding). and this is number 1 on my list of things to make when its done!

  7. These were delicious!!! Thanks for being creative and adventurous! I will be making them for Barbells for Boobs at my box tomorrow. Thanks again!

  8. Pingback: Batty Beet Brownies | Things My Belly Likes

  9. Pingback: Smoked Sausage & Sauerkraut Soup | Things My Belly Likes

  10. Pingback: Sauerkraut Brownies | The Journey of Two

  11. Pingback: Flourless Chestnut Brownies | Things My Belly Likes

  12. Pingback: Bratwurst, Green Apple & Sauerkraut Skillet | Things My Belly Likes

  13. Pingback: 26 Chocolaty Paleo Brownies without Flour or Dairy

  14. Pingback: 26 Chocolaty Paleo Brownies without Flour or Dairy | sassyandpaleoish

  15. Pingback: Amish Sauerkraut Brownies | Amish Recipes Oasis Newsfeatures

  16. Looking forward to your blog…and making the sauerkraut brownies….I have heard they were good, have never had them tho, but I will make them….thanks for sharing….

  17. Pingback: Tips for Self-Care While on Antibiotics | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

