Spicy Malanga Fritters

golden, crispy, good

More weirdness this week as part of The Creative Kitchen Challenge with…malangas.

Malangas are a tropical root vegetable, also known as Eddoe (hands up if you’d never heard of either).

As a root veg, malanga are similar to potatoes but, for the low-carbing folk, they’re considered a ‘safe starch’ as the starch grains are small and easily digestible.

looking appealing – GEDDIT?!

They are a good source of vitamin C and iron, and a staple of Cuban cooking – usually fried or used to thicken soups.

I went the fritter route.

these malanga must’ve been working out cos they are shredded. Lord, I am funny today

This involved shredding the malanga, coating with a paprika, cumin and cayenne seasoning and frying until golden brown.

In the course of peeling and shredding I discovered that malangas are slippery suckers so you might want to keep a firm grip while wielding the peeler.

here’s an extreme close-up for extra appetite stimulation

I’m not proud of it but there were some very unsavoury curse words uttered in the making of this meal.

Ingredient: Malanga

Verdict: I’ll be trying these again in a different form. Although blander than potato I can see using them for a bit of variety. They certainly fried well so be interesting to see if they roast, mash and boil well.

Spicy Malanga Fritters (makes 12)

  • 2 medium sized malangas
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 tsps paprika
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  1. Peel and grate the malangas. Stir in the seasonings and then the egg, mixing well.
  2. In a large frying pan heat the coconut oil to a high temp.
  3. Add a tbsp of the malanga mix to the oil then flatten slightly to form a patty. Fry for around 3 minutes on each side til golden. Repeat with the remaining batter. I did mine in batches of 4 (patting them with a kitchen towel to remove excess grease and storing them in a warm oven so they kept crisp and toasty). It should make around 12.

Like this? You might also like:

22 thoughts on “Spicy Malanga Fritters

  1. Great! I love Malanga, and it is also used in alot of Colombian cooking as well, we make a fabulous Chicken soup that has malanga and yuca instead of potatoes! Delish! Great idea on the fritter, another idea is how we use it in Colombia, you can use yuca too in the same way is to boil and mash it, then make little oblong balls, stuff it with a spicy meat stew, and fry them. Truly, truly delicious. Great post!

      • Yuca is the main root veg we use, but Malanga is often interchanged with it. I love it, you can also slice it and make crisps, and we usually make crisps out of them as well….I like it better than potatoes!!

  2. My Cuban wife begs for me to make purée de malanga with milk and butter whenever she has an upset stomach. I boil it with a few whole garlic cloves and purée with a bit of the cooking liquid. Could easily sub out the milk. I prefer the frituritas with grated garlic, an egg and chopped parsley, the way my MIL taught me.

  3. Pingback: Easy Carrot Fries « Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Purple Potato Cakes | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Purple Potato Cakes | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Balsamic Roasted Parsnips | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: Butternut Squash Chips | Things My Belly Likes

  8. Pingback: Crab & Cassava Fritters | Things My Belly Likes

  9. Pingback: Apple Fritters | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

