Artichoke & Goat’s Cheese Quiche

I finally conquered my demons…all it took was a quiche

Well I may have conquered my artichoke demons but apparently not my technology ones as this post vanished shortly after it went up.

(anyone else often picture the internet as a yawning, insatiable black hole?)

Sorry for the confusion, we are back to normal programming now.

artichoke evisceration phase 1

Last week I set the Creative Kitchen Challenge to encourage everyone to cook something they were unfamiliar with.

I am very unfamiliar with artichokes.

These guys scare me – why are they so much work? what is going on with all the layers? why does it’s hard heart shrivel when exposed to light?

after the massacre

So many questions, so much fear.

(btw: for great instructions on how to fillet an artichoke, head over to the Scrumptious Pumpkin.)

I tackled this head on by stuffing an artichoke in a quiche along with one of my favourite flavours – goat’s cheese (hooray for goat’s cheese!).

Please note, this is a crustless quiche. For a great gluten/grain-free crust, see here.

Ingredient: Artichoke

Verdict: Not sure if I am totally converted to artichoke just yet. The work to reward ratio is a bit disappointing and plus they are expensive where I live. Having said that, this quiche was tasty and much enjoyed.

Artichoke and Goat’s Cheese Quiche (serves 6)

  • 2 artichoke hearts, chopped into slivers
  • 5 oz goat’s cheese
  • 6 large eggs
  • 1/2 large, red onion
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream
  1. Boil the artichoke hearts in salted water for 20 minutes ’til soft. Remove and set aside.
  2. Gently fry the onion and garlic in butter for five minutes.
  3. Whisk together the eggs and cream. Stir in the onion mixture (make sure it’s not hot, you don’t want to cook the eggs), then the artichokes and lastly the goat’s cheese, chopped into small chunks.
  4. Pour everything into a greased 9in pie dish. Bake at 375 for 20-25 minutes. Let sit for a few minutes before serving.

Like this? You might also like:

15 thoughts on “Artichoke & Goat’s Cheese Quiche

  1. Oh wow. That looks amazing. I confronted my artichoke demons, stuffed one with Parmesan and basil, and it turned out….inedible. Ha! If I can figure out what I’m doing I’ll post it. Good job on your quiche! 🙂

  2. Omg! This looks amazing! I had battered-fried artichoke hearts on pita with tomatoes, lettuce and some kind of chipotle (maybe mayo) dressing. It was great! It was also 7+ years ago! Time for a comeback!

  3. Pingback: Saag Paneer « Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Garden Pea, Feta & Mint Tart « Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Kale and Cabbage Bake « Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Smoked Salmon & Red Onion Quiche | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: Brussel Sprout, Goat’s Cheese & Pistachio Salad | Things My Belly Likes

  8. Oh, don’t waste all those lovely outer leaves!!
    If you make steamed artichokes (which are heavenly!) which you can dip in melted butter with sauteed minced garlic, you don’t throw away any of the outer leaves because they have “meat” at the base of each leaf that you scrape off with your teeth (it’s fun eat-with-your- hands food).
    Then, when you get to the heart, the choke (the fuzzy part) is easily pulled off of the heart. You can also eat most of the stem.

    Next time you want to use artichoke hearts in a recipe, buy frozen ones or the kind packed in water. You’ll save so much time and money and you won’t be throwing out most of the artichoke 🙂

Leave a Reply

