Carmelised Plantain Bread

a tasty breakfast bread

To kick off the The Creative Kitchen Challenge I set myself (and hopefully others) yesterday, here is a strange concoction – carmelised plantain bread.

It’s a variation on my basic gluten-free banana bread recipe but I’ve replaced the bananas with plantain, sliced and sauteed in butter and honey until soft and treacly.

plantain: also known as ‘desert banana’ which makes it sound way more bad-ass

Despite living in southern climes, I’ve never cooked with plantain before. Round these parts it is typically fried and served as a side dish.

in fried chip form

I consider it more fruit than vegetable though. It’s very similar to banana – both in appearance and taste – but slightly starchier and less sweet.

The nuggets of carmelised plantain worked well in the bread, giving it a very subtle almost toffee like flavour.

not too sweet, not too savoury, just right

It’s perfect for breakfast and I intend to eat it  for that very purpose all week, slathered with butter of course.

All in all, not a bad start to the week’s challenge. Now it’s your turn – what are you cooking?  Any particular strange ingredient you have your eye on? Anyone ever eaten/cooked plantain before?

Ingredient: Plantain

Verdict: I like the subtle taste but other than frying it and subbing for bananas in baking, I’m not sure what else I’d use plantain for. Not very versatile.

Carmelised Plantain Bread

  • 1 large ripe plantain
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 5 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup coconut flour
  • 1/2 cup almond milk (or other milk)
  1. Thinly slice the plantain. Heat the butter or coconut oil in a frying pan and, when it starts to foam, add the plantain slices. Drizzle over the tbsp of honey and fry for 2-3 minutes on each side til the plantain is browned. Remove and set aside.

    let the frying commence!

  2. When cool, blend the plantain in a food processor on high. It doesn’t need to be completely smooth.

    it just needs to look like this

  3. Whisk together the eggs, coconut oil, vanilla and milk. Add the blended plantain and stir together.
  4. In a separate bowl sieve the coconut flour. Add the sea salt. Gradually add the plantain mixture to the flour, stirring constantly until it becomes a semi-wet batter.
  5. Transfer into a well-greased loaf tin and bake at 375 for 25-30 minutes.

looks good, tastes better

Like this? You might also like:

 

This post was featured on Monday Mania.

35 thoughts on “Carmelised Plantain Bread

  1. Being married to a Latino (Dominican) husband, I have found several yummy uses for plantain!! The typical rule of thumb I’ve learned is that the greener they are, the more ‘potato’ like they are. . Thus you can substitute any potato recipe with the greener starchier plantains. .mashed plantain is one of my favorites! The riper (more yellow) they are, the more sweeter they become, like the banana. Another favorite dish is I make lasagna and use the semi-riper plantains sliced lengthwise and substitute them for the pasta noodles. I can’t wait to try your bread recipe! Hope my suggestions help expand your plantain horizons!

    • Hi Amber, thanks for all the info! I have one leftover plantain and have been wondering what to do with it so your suggestions are very welcome. I’m so intrigued by the lasagna thing – very creative!

      • Some of the other things I have done with them are:
        1. Slice super green ones just a little bit thicker (about a half inch), fry them just until slightly golden, take them out of the oil, mash each slice completely flat (I use a heavy can with a flat bottom), then return them to the fryer for another round of frying. .take them out, salt to taste. . .try not to become addicted to them!!. . . extra good with thousand island dressing as a dip!!
        2. I’ve made mashed plantain (identical to mashed potatoes) and paired them with mashed sweet potatoes!. . half and half of each. . .
        3. Add chunks of semi ripe plantain to your typical beef stew recipe. .. just saying. . . .

        If you ever need just a touch of sweetness to most any savory dish. . . especially beef, plantains are a great go-to ingredient!!

        If you try the lasagna thing, if your plantain is a little on the greener/starchier side, you may want to blanch them just a bit before adding them to your layers so they will soak up the beef and tomato sauce flavors better.

    • Amber, I love these suggestions! I just found plantains this year and the only thing I’ve done is buy super ripe ones and bake them with cinnamon for a treat (aka “breakfast”). The lasagna idea is so unique! This bread looks like a great use for the last one I have sitting on my counter but I know I’ll eat the whole loaf if I bake it this weekend…maybe I’ll make it Sunday night and take most of it in to school to share. 🙂

  2. Sorry, I hate to nitpick, but the correct spelling is “caramelized” or “caramelised”. Either way, the recipe looks delicious!

    • Hi there! Nitpicking is totally allowed. In fact, I encourage it since I’m a keen nitpicker myself 🙂
      Carmelised is actually the British spelling (and I’m a Brit!), according to Webster’s. I do sometimes wrestle with whether to go with UK or US spellings on this site so you might see a mixture. That’s what you get when the author is a Brit married to a North American. Confusion!

  3. Great recipe! I’ve tried plantains only a couple of times – they’re not something I’d think to cook with. But I love banana bread and I think this sounds delicious – thanks for the unique idea! 🙂

    • Thanks Jen! This wasn’t as sweet as banana bread but that works for me cos I can’t really stomach sweet things in the mornings. This was best spread with butter and with a cup of tea (guess that’s the Brit in me coming out!)

  4. Pingback: Spicy Malanga Fritters « Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Jalapeno & Cheddar Scones « Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Flax & Raisin Breakfast Bread | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: Chocolate Chip Banana Bread | Things My Belly Likes

  8. Pingback: Carmelized Plantain Pumpkin Bars |

  9. Pingback: Parsnip & Walnut Cake | Things My Belly Likes

  10. I love platanos (plantains). It’s a part of my culture. I wait until they are super super ripe and slice them long and cook them in olive oil, served up with a side of sour cream or plain greek yogurt…sooo good, it’s like a dessert.

  11. Your bread would be much sweeter if the plantains were riper. The blacker the plantain, the riper and sweeter it will be. I know where I am they are hard to find the in the grocery store because they throw them out when ripe. I suppose most people would find them unappetizing when they are the ripest because the look like a rotten banana on the outside. This is the best way to use them if you want them to be sweet. I find that they are actually sweeter than a banana when they are fully ripe.

  12. Pingback: Stuffed Plantain Dumplings | Things My Belly Likes

  13. Pingback: Very Ginger Gingerbread | Things My Belly Likes

  14. Pingback: 100 Paleo Bread Recipes - My Heart Beets

  15. Pingback: Pumpkin Ginger Bread | Things My Belly Likes

  16. Pingback: Tostones (Fried Green Plantains) | Things My Belly Likes

  17. Pingback: Plantain Pancakes | Things My Belly Likes

  18. Pingback: Mofongo (fried plantain balls) | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

