Lemon Thyme Chicken

this is as fancy as my presentation gets

Despite my best efforts (which really consisted of moving some dirt around) thyme is the only thing, besides aloe vera, that has successfully grown in my backyard.

The hardy Spanish Thyme has resisted all my unconscious attempts to kill it. If it was a child, the government would’ve taken it away from me long ago.

I grew this!

So how do I repay this loyalty? By dreaming up a thyme recipe and practically stripping it almost to the point of extinction in the name of deliciousness.

It’ll come back, it always comes back.

This dish balances out some zesty-ass lemon (I don’t know what zesty-ass means but I like to mix up my food adjectives) with flavourful thyme and roasted chicken.

lemon?…check, thyme?…check, chicken?…check. Tasty?.. CHECK!

It’s a good mid-weeker meaning that it takes about 30 minutes to shove onto the table with a scowl that says: “now can I put my feet up?”

And then hubby will bite into it, thank you for your hard work, praise your cooking and generally bring that glow back to life.

Romance ain’t dead. Not in our house.

Lemon Thyme Chicken (serves 2)

  • 2 boneless chicken breasts
  • 2 1/2 tbsps lemon juice (roughly 1 lemon’s worth)
  • 1 tsp lemon zest (from 1 lemon)
  • 3/4 cup or 3 tbsps fresh thyme leaves, finely chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/2 tsp fresh rosemary leaves
  • 3 tbsps EVOO
  1. Heat the olive oil in a saucepan. Add the thyme, rosemary and garlic and saute for a few minutes.
  2. Pour in the lemon juice and zest and simmer for 2-3 minutes while the flavours mingle.
  3. Rinse then pat dry the chicken breasts. Season and place in a baking dish. Pour over the hot lemon liquid.
  4. Bake the chicken at 375 for 25-30 minutes, basting halfway through with the lemon juice.

Like this? You might also like:

8 thoughts on “Lemon Thyme Chicken

  1. You have just introduced me to a new herb! I’ve never seen this variety of thyme before. The thyme in my herb garden has tiny, tiny green leaves, but it too, cannot be killed. Thanks!

    • You’re most welcome, happy to spread the herb love! Ours is very leafy and very aromatic – I can smell it as soon as I walk onto the back patio, it’s gorgeous. One of these days I intend to make it into tea too.

  2. Pingback: Horseradish Cream Chicken Parcels « Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Chimichurri Chicken Skewers « Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Roast Pork with Apple Thyme Sauce « Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

