Paneer & Cauliflower Curry

warning: will stain your tongue yellow

What sort of people make their own cheese? From scratch?

If you’d asked me that question five years ago I’d have replied “dangerous hippy malcontents of course”.

Now that I’m older, wiser and a lot less flippant I can happily reply: “ME! THAT’S WHO!”

any tips on how to clean cheesecloth much appreciated

Paneer is a mild indian cheese which is incredibly easy to make, lasts well and can really fill out a curry.

Sometimes it is replaced with tofu (the texture is very similar) but I’m not a fan of soy and I’d much rather replace it with something a bit more natural and made in my own kitchen.

I made this!

Combined with cauliflower, turmeric and some plain yoghurt this is a mild, almost sweet-tasting curry that’s as nutritious as it is tasty.

Paneer & Cauliflower Curry (serves 2-3)

  • 1 1/2 cups diced paneer (you can buy this but I’d really recommend making your own, I followed these incredibly easy instructions at Journey Kitchen)
  • 1 small cauliflower, cut into florets
  • 1/2 large, white onion, finely chopped
  • 1 clove garlic. minced
  • 3 tsps fresh ginger root, finely sliced
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp coriander
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1 bird’s eye chili, finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup plain yoghurt
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 tbsps ghee, coconut oil or butter
  1. Melt the ghee in a saucepan. Add the garlic, ginger, onion and chili. Fry gently for five minutes. Stir in the coriander, turmeric, salt and cauliflower.

    so colourful!

  2. Add the water, cover and let fry for a further 5 minutes.
  3. Stir in the paneer and temper the yoghurt (do not add all the yoghurt into the pan at once as the heat will curdle it. Instead add a small amount of the warm curry to the yoghurt and stir in, letting the yoghurt gradually heat up before adding it to the pan).
  4. Stir til combined and then serve immediately with rice, naan bread or simply on its own.

Like this? You might also like:

22 thoughts on “Paneer & Cauliflower Curry

  1. Pingback: Saag Paneer « Things My Belly Likes

  2. Pingback: Mango Chicken Curry | Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Meat Feast Pizza | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Vegetable Biryani | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Broccoli & Cauliflower Cheese Bake | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Goan Fish Curry | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: Lime & Coconut Prawn Curry | Things My Belly Likes

  8. Pingback: Coconut Chana Saag | Things My Belly Likes

  9. Pingback: Chinese Roasted Purple Cauliflower | Things My Belly Likes

  10. Pingback: Coconut & Cashew Chicken Curry | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

