GF Apple & Raspberry Crumble with Vanilla Custard

mid-crumbling

Crumbles are the elasticated pants of desserts – comforting, dependable and extremely forgiving.

There’s a reason for that – they are ridiculously easy to make, full of healthy fruits and you can customise that topping to reflect whatever your weird dietary pecadillos may be (my kitchen is a safe space, entirely free of judgement).

In this case, it’s a gluten free version which means no wheat flour or oats. Instead I went with two different types of nuts (pecans and almonds but nut lovers can feel free to mix it up) and flax seeds.

Apples contain oodles of phytonutrients while raspberries can prevent cancer – this crumble will make you live longer

With just a smidgen of honey this is a delicious dessert that will go down well with almost any crowd – from the sweet-toothed to the health conscious.

here they are again – the nutritional stars of the show!

As for the custard, I’ve no excuse. Creamy desserts have always been my kryptonite. One glance at that rich, yellowy gold and I became a she-demon, grabbing for more.

Anyone or anything standing in between me and that sweet goo is a goner. I take no prisoners.

And once you taste it, neither will you.

Apple & Raspberry Crumble (serves 4)

  • 5 medium-sized apples, peeled, cored and diced
  • 2 cups raspberries (I used frozen but fresh would also work)
  • 3 tbsps honey
  • 1 cup almonds, sliced
  • 1/2 cup pecan pieces
  • 2 heaped tbsps coconut flour
  • 3 tbsps butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup ground flax seeds
  1. Put the apples, raspberries and 2 tbsps of honey into a large pan. Simmer for 30 mins ’til it resembles a dark red goo and the apple chunks have softened.
  2. Pour into a 9in pie dish.

    isn’t she pretty?!

  3. Using a food processor, grind the almonds, pecans and flax seeds to a rough crumb. You want some larger pieces in there for variety but it should be a grainy texture. Transfer this to a mixing bowl and stir in the coconut flour. Stir together the butter and the honey and pour into the nut mixture. Mix it together (I found that using my hands worked well for this) until it starts to clump – it should be like breadcrumbs.
  4. Spoon the crumble onto the fruit layer so that it is evenly distributed. Bake at 375 for 20 minutes.

Vanilla Custard (makes 2 cups)

  • 12 fl oz heavy cream
  • 3tbsps maple syrup
  • 1 large egg
  • 5 large egg yolks
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  1. Heat the cream, vanilla and maple syrup for ten minutes on a medium heat, whisking occasionally.
  2. Beat in the egg and egg yolks. Whisk continuously for three minutes as it thickens. Note: the whisking here prevents lumps forming. I’m one of those weirdos that quite likes the lumps but if you don’t, keep moving that whisk.

it was all I could do to stop myself upending this into my face

Like this? You might also like:

20 thoughts on “GF Apple & Raspberry Crumble with Vanilla Custard

  1. I think I just drooled a little bit on my pajama pants. Awesome way to start the morning. XD
    Apart from the heavy cream (dairy and I have a love/hate relationship. I love it, it hates me….(T-T)), it’s all stuff I almost always have at home – looks like this could get dangerous. o.O;

    • Agreed, a day that starts with drool is always a winner 🙂

      I don’t want to encourage anything that might end in tragedy but treat yourself! Everyone needs delicious dessert on Mondays! (yep, I am the devil)

  2. Pingback: Sunday Snippets: May 20, 2012

  3. EverythIng about this is divine! Making it today, fighting the urge to put my face in the bowl of custard.

  4. Pingback: Apple Yoghurt Cake « Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Rice Pudding & Spiced Peach Jam « Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Pear & Cranberry Crumble | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: A St Patrick’s Day Feast (Guinness Chocolate Cake, Dublin Coddle, Colcannon and more!) | Things My Belly Likes

  8. Pingback: Apple Fritters | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

