Virtual Vegan Potluck: Spicy Quinoa Nori Rolls

quinoa makes an ideal filling for these little parcels of joy

Thanks to An Unrefined Vegan I learnt two new things this week:

  1. Dog loves Nori. So much so that he will sit at my feet while I roll sushi and he rolls his eyes.*
  2. I can roll sushi! – a skill I thought belonged only to Asian master chefs, trained by wizened old sushi monks who have been passing down the artform since man first held a chopstick.

And the reason I’m rolling sushi? Well, last month An Unrefined Vegan proposed a virtual vegan potluck and this was the recipe that popped into my head.

If you’ve found your way here following the potluck trail – hello! Isn’t it great to be a part of the blogging circle?! I’m chuffed to be the next on the list.

Once you’ve had your fill here, please navigate around the potluck by clicking the buttons at the bottom.

more simple than they look…but you don’t have to tell your guests that

But first, on with the show…

Seaweed is amazingly nutritious (it’s a great source of iodine and B-vitamins) but I don’t get much call for it in recipes so it tends to languish in the cupboard.

There will be no more languishing now that I’ve discovered this recipe which uses aΒ quinoa filling, made delicious by ginger, chilli, garlic and sesame. I also threw some kale in the mix for added nutrition.

the quinoa filling – I’m not going to lie, it’s hard not to eat it straight from the bowl

Rolling nori requires a steady hand but trust me, if I can do it, every single person reading this blog can.

The instructions on the packet told me I should be using a bamboo mat. Since I am not the sort of person who has a bamboo mat lying around, I used a clean teatowel and this worked just fine.

It might not be classy but what I lack in appropriate kitchen utensils, I make up for in gusto and improvisation.

*I so wanted to take a photo of his cute face for you but I decided a long time ago not to compromise his privacy that way. Dog is a very secretive beast.

Spicy Quinoa Nori Rolls (makes 6 small rolls)

  • 1 1/2 nori sheets
  • 1/2 cup quinoa
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/4 large, white onion, finely chopped
  • 1 large leaf kale, finely chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 inch chunk of fresh ginger root, grated
  • 1 bird’s eye chili (you can de-seed this if you want less spice)
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil
  • 3 tsps sesame seeds
  • 2 tsps lemon juice
  1. Put the quinoa in a small saucepan and cover with the water. Bring to the boil and let it boil for ten minutes until the quinoa is soft and all the water has absorbed. Season and set aside to cool.
  2. Toast the sesame seeds under a grill for a few minutes ’til brown.
  3. Heat the sesame oil over a medium heat and gently fry the onion, garlic, chili, ginger and kale for 7 minutes.
  4. Remove from the heat and stir in the quinoa, sesame seeds and lemon juice.
  5. Set aside to cool to room temperature.

    ready the rolling station! (and please ignore my threadbare teatowel)

  6. Place the nori on a mat or clean towel. Line the edge of the sheet with the quinoa mixture then moisten your fingertips and gently roll the nori away from you. The water makes the seaweed sticky so once you’ve covered the quinoa and the roll has reached its desired thickness, dab more water along the edge and ‘stick’ the seaweed down.

    line the quinoa along the edge of the sheet…

  7. Repeat the process. Each sheet should make two long rolls. Cut these in half and keep them all in the fridge ’til serving.

    …and roll!

So there you have it – easy, simple and tasty appetisers without the need to procure your own sushi master.

The next blogger in the chain is the brilliant Jason at Watch Me Lose 150 Pounds. If you want to see what he’s sharing click on the ‘go forward’ button. If you landed here and are curious about my predecessor, the lovely That Was Vegan?, Β just click ‘go back’.

Simples.

Like this? You might also like:

Β 
60 thoughts on “Virtual Vegan Potluck: Spicy Quinoa Nori Rolls

  1. Stellar dish! If there were not hundreds of other people lined up behind me to come in and sample them, I’d eat the whole pile. Dog and I have a similar reaction to nori. Please know that your description of sushi monks was not only hilarious, but also exactly what I thought until very recently. Supreme dish and blogging. Cheers!

  2. These look great! I’m also interested to hear that rolling isn’t as hard as I always thought… I might have to give it a try. Oh, and even without a picture as proof, I’m sure Dog is very cute when he rolls his eyes πŸ™‚

  3. I love the idea of using quinoa in sushi rolls…such a good idea. I used quinoa in my potluck dish too, love the stuff! I’ve always been nervous to try rolling sushi (I lack the proper utensils too) but I may have to try now. Thanks for cute post!

  4. haha I loved this post it made me giggle. you seriously cant go wrong with nori. that looks super yummy. The dog had a good idea waiting right there lol

  5. Looks wonderful! I can totally picture a dog asking for such a treat, they know where it’s at. Good on you to improvise. I would love to feature a recipe of yours on VBU. Please let me know if you’d like that. Thanks! L.

    • Hi Lidia, thanks for the offer -I’d love it if you featured a recipe! Be honoured! I’m not a vegan blogger so it might be tough to find a recipe on the site however – did you have one in mind or are you ‘commissioning’ one?! πŸ™‚

  6. Yay for improvisation, the mark of a true chef πŸ˜‰ Btw, I am grateful for this recipe, there’s this tea shop that used to serve similar quinoa rolls that I love and I was heartbroken when they got discontinued. Now, I can make my own.

  7. I love how super healthy these are and they look so pretty πŸ™‚ I’ve always wanted to make sushi so I may start with these! Thanks for sharing x

  8. Ooooh I love quinoa and I loooooove rolls and wraps of any kind. I normally use rice paper rolls and haven’t been adventurous enough to try nori. I was not sure if I’d get it right, but your post here is very encouraging. πŸ™‚

  9. Pingback: Chicken ‘Tortillas’ « Things My Belly Likes

  10. Pingback: Carrot, Bean & Toasted Almond Salad « Things My Belly Likes

  11. Pingback: Thanksgiving Recipe Round-Up | Things My Belly Likes

  12. Pingback: Chinese Five-Spice Powder | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

