Flourless Carrot Cake (with Nutmeg Cream Cheese Frosting)

no flour, lots of carrots. It shouldn’t work but it does

Carrot cake is the cake that people usually make a face at. And it’s not a ‘pleased to meet you, get in my belly’ face, it’s more of a ‘vegetables in my dessert?! Are you freakin’ kidding me?!’ face.

So perhaps when you serve this to people don’t tell them that it’s carrot cake (unless they are discerning foodies, then you can eat it smugly while you discuss the evils of factory farming and whether gluten is the worst thing since sliced, white bread).

I ate that slice…and then another

Honestly this cake is a winner. Hubby and I had two slices each in one sitting.

In my defence we were just about to watch The Muppets and I was already regressing to that blissful child-like frame of mind where it’s ok to stuff two slices of cake in your piehole without thought for the consequences.

cake and The Muppets, it was a truly amazing night

Flourless Carrot Cake with Nutmeg Cream Cheese Frosting

The cake:

*adapted from Nigella Lawson

  • 3 medium carrots, peeled and grated
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 large eggs
  • 8oz pecans, ground to a fine crumb
  • 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 lemon, zest and juice
  1. Whisk together the honey, eggs and coconut oil. Stir in the vanilla extract, nutmeg, lemon zest and juice.
  2. Fold in the carrots and ground pecans.
  3. Pour into a greased in springform pan.
  4. Bake at 350F for 30 to 35 minutes til firm. Set on a wire rack to cool completely before frosting.

    the naked cake (good name for a band, no?)

The frosting:

  • 8 oz cream cheese, warmed to room temp
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 2 tsbps plain yoghurt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
  1. Combine all the ingredients in a bowl and whisk with an electric whisk on a low setting.
  2. Smear onto cake and refrigerate ’til needed.
59 thoughts on “Flourless Carrot Cake (with Nutmeg Cream Cheese Frosting)

  1. Hi there. Looks like a great recipe, just wondering if you know of a dairy free alternative for the frosting?

  2. Pingback: Diary of an Angry Fat Woman

  3. OOOhh! This looks so delicious! I can’t wait until our carrots are ready to pick. This cake will be first on my list! Thanks for sharing and for checking out my blog as well!

  4. Pingback: Strawberry & Pear Molasses Tart « Things My Belly Likes

  5. This looks delicious! I’m a little late to this post but no worries. Is it absolutely necessary to add the ground pecans? My girlfriend is allergic to nuts but she loves carrot cake so I would like to make this for her. Do you think you could leave the nuts out or substitute with coconut flour? Maybe I will try making this today and substitute with coconut flour. I’ll let you know how it turns out.

  6. Pingback: Frosted Chocolate Chip Blueberry Muffins (Part II) | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: Flourless Chocolate Orange Cake | Things My Belly Likes

  8. Pingback: Green Avocado Frosting | Things My Belly Likes

  9. Pingback: Parsnip & Walnut Cake | Things My Belly Likes

  10. I have this in the oven for my birthday tonight. I can’t wait to try it! Thank you for a great recipe. It was that incredible carrot cake to frosting ratio that lured me in πŸ™‚

  11. Pingback: 11 Crave-Worthy Gluten-Free Carrot Cake Recipes | Paleo Grubs

  12. Pingback: Get Creative with Carrot Cake - Honest Cooking

  13. Pingback: 25 Healthy Paleo Carrot Cake Recipes

  14. Pingback: Garlic Carrot Fries | Things My Belly Likes

  15. Made this today, stuck it in the fridge and just had a piece… it’s delicious! It was so easy to make, and I think next time I will omit the yogurt from the frosting and put maybe a little bit more honey in it, and I added a ton of cinnamon plus the nutmeg. Great recipe, even hubs who is not grain-free really enjoyed it!

  16. Pingback: Spiced Carrot Cake Muffins | Things My Belly Likes

  17. Pingback: Easter traditions - Healthy Inspirations (Australia & NZ)

  18. Pingback: Easter traditions

  19. It should be noted that the cream cheese should be room-temperature, not fresh out of the fridge! It ruins the cake if applied cold. Wish that had been included in the directions as I don’t ever cook with cream cheese and it didn’t occur to me to do that.

Leave a Reply

