Simple Sides: Garlicky Greens & Lemon-Yoghurt Asparagus

these two ingredients make for one tasty side dish

Today I’m concentrating on an oft-ignored part of dinner – the sides. Much like a good pair of pants, a decent side dish can be the difference between ‘meh, whatever’ and ‘holy cow! that was delicious!’ (I don’t know why pants would be delicious, let’s just move on)

May I present….drum roll puleese….garlicky green beans and asparagus in a lemon yoghurt sauce!

these are the garlicky greens of which I speak

Two recipes, one post – how’s that for efficiency?!

These simple sides were served up with a juicy New York strip in our house.

feel free to ladle on more sauce, this is good stuff

I’m still a recovering vegetarian so I skipped the meat part and just overloaded on the veg, which was fun but did lead to a severe case of garlic breath.

Even Dog couldn’t look me in the eye.

Garlicky Greens (serves 2-3)

  • 1 large bunch of curly kale, shredded (equates to 5 cups)
  • 2 cups green beans
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 cup parmesan
  1. Melt the butter in a large saucepan over a low heat. When it’s completely melted, add the garlic and fry for 2 minutes. Add the green beans and kale.
  2. Cover and fry for a further 5-7 minutes until the beans are tender and the kale has wilted. Add the sea salt.
  3. Transfer greens from pan to serving dish and sprinkle with parmesan. Serve immediately.

    kale contains vitamins K, A and C. It can help prevent some cancers

Asparagus in Lemon Yoghurt Sauce (serves 2-3)

  • 2 tbsps plain yoghurt
  • juice and zest of 1/2 lemon
  • 1 tbsp butter, melted then cooled to room temp
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • one medium bunch of asparagus tips (about 2 cups)
  1. Whisk together the yoghurt, lemon juice and zest, paprika and butter. Store in the fridge until needed.
  2. Boil or steam the asparagus tips for seven mins until tender. Remove and drizzle with sauce.

Begging P.S :I just joined facebook! If you want an easy way to keep up to date with posts as they happen, please go here and like me (at the very least so I can do my best Sally Fields impression: “They like me! They really like me!”)

21 thoughts on “Simple Sides: Garlicky Greens & Lemon-Yoghurt Asparagus

  1. Pingback: Garden Pea, Feta & Mint Tart « Things My Belly Likes

  2. Pingback: Bubble n’ Squeak (or Bacon, Cabbage and Garlic Hash) « Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Julia’s Sweet and Sour Red Cabbage | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Sour Cream & Garlic Potato Salad | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Cream Cheese Spinach | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Lemon Butter Brussel Sprouts | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: Rainbow Chard with Almonds & Garlic | Things My Belly Likes

  8. Pingback: Garlic Mushroom Soup | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

