Chicken, Bacon & Spinach Quiche

one giant slice for me…

Monday is a day for waking up late with your hair looking like it’s been to crazy town and back, spilling coffee on your only clean item of clothing, finding out that the dog vomited in the bath (is it just mine who does that?!) and realising when you reach the office that you’ve forgotten to put on deodourant (apologies co-workers!).

It is NOT a day for cooking.

After 20-something long years on this earth I’ve discovered that the secret to Mondays is preparation. Specifically in the kitchen.

good as a dinner, midnight snack or lunch the next day. One quiche: many uses

And that is why I cook up a storm on Sundays.

I like to make something easy, nourishing and durable. Something that will taste just as good the day after…and the day after that.

At this point I was drooling

This quiche is it. We’ll be eating it today for lunch and tomorrow and possibly Wednesday.

And no, I won’t get sick of it because it’s just that good.

Chicken, Bacon & Spinach Quiche (serves 6)

Coconut Flour Pastry:

*adapted from the Coconut Mama

  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup coconut flour
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  1. Whisk together the butter and eggs. Stir into the coconut flour and salt. Keep mixing until it comes together as a wet dough.
  2. Press into a well-greased 9in pie dish. It won’t behave like ordinary dough, you’ll have to do a fair amount of pressing with your hands but trust me, it comes out fine.
  3. Prick the bottom and bake at 375 for 10 minutes. Remove from oven and set aside.

    the first stage of what will be a belly-pleasing pie

Filling:

  • 1 large boneless, skinless chicken breast, diced into small cubes
  • 3 rashers/slices streaky bacon, finely chopped
  • 1/2 medium, white onion
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 4 cups baby spinach leaves (or two generous handfuls)
  • 5 eggs
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup cheddar cheese, grated
  1. Heat the butter in a frying pan and gently fry the onion, chicken and bacon for 10 minutes. Add in the spinach and stir until it wilts. Take the pan off the heat.

    it ain’t pretty but it is tasty

  2. Decant the chicken mixture into your pastry and spread so it is evenly distributed.

    the filled pie

  3. Whisk together the eggs, milk, cheese and season with salt and pepper. Pour the liquid onto the pie dish until all the chicken and bacon mixture is covered.
  4. Bake at 375 for 25-30 mins ’til firm. Let sit for five minutes before serving.

    with green beans!

27 thoughts on “Chicken, Bacon & Spinach Quiche

    • Definitely Emily, this one’s a real time saver. One word of warning though – if you ladle the meat filling onto the pasta while hot, the pasta sheets will curl up at the sides. Best to make the filling and let it cool down before assembling….hope that helps!

  1. I just made this, and it was ssssooo tasty. Even the pastry was awesome i couldn’t even tell it was gluten free. Well done and thank you. We recently just discovered that my husband is allergic to wheat and gluten. So i am learning a whole new way of cooking.

    • Hi Jamie. Thanks so much for coming back and letting me know you enjoyed it – I love to hear success stories! When I first started cooking gluten-free it was a bit intimidating but you’ll find there’s a GF version of (almost) all your favourites so you don’t have to feel deprived. Good luck with your culinary adventures & thanks again, Cat.

  2. We’ve been making at least two crustless quiches a week for breakfast and/or lunch. I just searched “chicken quiche paleo” and found yours. How could I not have thought of chicken and bacon before? Brilliant. Making it tomorrow! Thanks!

    • Hi Carly, aren’t quiches brilliant? So adaptable and great for busy mealtimes. I’m glad I could introduce you to the world of chicken and bacon – you won’t look back I promise!
      Enjoy.

  3. Pingback: Bacon Brownies « Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Artichoke & Goat’s Cheese Quiche « Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Chicken ‘Tortillas’ « Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Bacon Wrapped Pork Tenderloin (with Pineapple Glaze) « Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: Smoked Salmon & Red Onion Quiche | Things My Belly Likes

  8. Pingback: Cream Cheese Spinach | Things My Belly Likes

  9. Pingback: Seared Chicken Thighs with Bacon & Red Chard | Things My Belly Likes

  10. Pingback: Bacon, Sausage & Egg Pie | Things My Belly Likes

  11. Pingback: Meat Feast Pizza | Things My Belly Likes

  12. Pingback: Breakfast Sausage Omelette Wedges | Things My Belly Likes

  13. I don’t usually post on blogs, and I know is is an old entry, but my dear Lord in Heaven, this was AMAZING!! I had to google what Bacon Rashers meant, but other than that one of the EASIEST recipes I’ve ever made. Thank you so so so much! My new favorite meal for ANY time of day!

    • Thanks so much Mary for coming back and letting me know. I love it when a recipe goes well and I’m so glad I can share the deliciousness. Will fix that rashers thing (it’s such a common term in the UK that I’d no idea you Americans weren’t familiar with it!)

  14. Pingback: Quiche s uzeným lososem | Metlův Paleo/Primal food blog

  15. Sorry, Cat – I stole your pastry case recipe and used my own lorraine filling. Had pretty much given up on Quiche Lorraine (a favourite of every single member of my family – including, ahem, THAT 10 year old…). Never thought I’d find a good wheat-free pastry case – it’s excellent.

    I did find the ‘dough’ quite difficult to work with – ended up with quite thick edges at the bottom and had to work closely to get full coverage to the top of the edges – without the gluten it’s an extremely short ‘pastry’ to work with. I’m going to try refrigerating the ‘dough’ next time before handling – as you do with classic dough. Have you tried this?

    Keep it up – your hubs is SOOOO lucky.

    • Steffan, when it comes to food I am way too impatient to let dough chill out in the fridge – although that is an excellent idea and probably well worth the effort. I’m on the hunt for a decent pie crust for apple pie so if you have success with the chilling let me know!

  16. Love this quiche. I make mine without the crust and everyone loves it. My 14 year old granddaughter said she wanted to come up to spend the night if I would make it for her. She even turned down going out to eat for this. Great recipe. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

