Maple Mint Fudge

so good it shouldn't be legal

Here are a few of the questions to which ‘fudge’ is the answer:

  • “What will make me forget that I had the suckiest day in the history of sucky days?”
  • “What can I make to shut up treat my noisy adorable children?”
  • “What is an acceptable snack at midnight when I have a raging hunger and no shame?”

Fudge is the solution to a great many problems and my version isn’t even that sinful because I’m using butter.

Butter and I are old friends. It saddens me that a lot of people can’t say the same.

I firmly believe that fudge made from good quality, organic butter (from grassfed cows) is a million times better for your body than the regular sugar-laden, condensed-milk-from-a-can varieties.

sugar-free fudge wants to be in your belly!

Why? Because saturated fats do not deserve their bad press. I eat a lot of butter and I am healthy, a normal weight and with all the right blood pressure/cholesterol measurements.

Furthermore, I don’t binge on processed junk because fats keep me satiated. Belly is happy and appetite is controlled. Everyone’s a winner.

This recipe was inspired by the peanut butter carob fudge over at The Healthy Home Economist so if that one sounds better than mine, you should head on over there.

Still here? Ok, then let’s do this.

Maple Mint Fudge (makes around 12 pieces)

  • 1 cup butter
  • 4 tbsps maple syrup
  • 2 tsps peppermint extract
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 1/2 pecans, chopped
  1. Mix all the above together using an electric mixer on a low speed until it is a smooth, creamy mixture.
  2. Pour into a standard loaf tin lined with greaseproof paper. Freeze for 2 hours then remove and cut into chunks. Store in the freezer til devoured. Hubby referred to this as “like ice-cream” so be warned – it is not portable as it will melt. Eat from the freezer and don’t let it sit out too long. Especially if you live in a warm climate.
31 thoughts on “Maple Mint Fudge

  1. I’m with you! I eat several tablewpoons of butter everyday, and I’m in the best shape of my life… people need to stop hating on it 🙂

    This fudge btw, looks terrific

    • Hi Helen.
      Thanks – that’s the wonderful thing about blogging, all that nonsense in my head gets an outlet!

      Good to find another person who loves good food – pantry obsessions are the best kind of obsessions to have 🙂

  2. Pingback: Mint & Avocado Spinach Salad « Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Sweet n’ Salty Almonds « Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Mint Chocolate Mousse « Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Blackberry Terrine « Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Sour Cream Peppermint Brownies | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: Maple Coconut Chocolates | Things My Belly Likes

  8. Pingback: How to have a Paleo Thanksgiving in a non-Paleo world

  9. Pingback: I Love You Truffles | Things My Belly Likes

  10. Pingback: Chai Chocolate Pots | Things My Belly Likes

  11. Pingback: Simple Chocolate Sauce | Things My Belly Likes

  12. Pingback: Maple Leaf Cookies (flourless and dairy-free!) | Things My Belly Likes

  13. Pingback: Popcorn Chocolate Freezer Cake | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

