Thursday Thoughts: Fear and Loathing in the Supermarket

Supermarkets (or grocery stores – hello US readers!) are normally a happy place for me. I smugly load up in the fresh produce section, breeze over to the check-out, give the lady behind me with a cart full of sugar the judgmental side-eye, and go on my merry way.

Not so yesterday.

Yesterday I came across this horror and was so aghast that I immediately had to sit down (there was a screaming toddler already sitting down further up the aisle so I was in good company).

brain eating poison for $7.99. Bargain!

What in the name of all that is good and holy is going on? To quote Will Ferrell in Zoolander, I feel like I’ve taken crazy pills.

There nestled in amongst the herbs and spices was MSG or monosodium glutamate if you want to get all geeked out. Masquerading as a normal seasoning!

MSG is a toxin, a poison that not only damages your heart but plays havoc with practically every cell in your body, oh and feeds cancers.

The work of the excellent Dr Russell Blaylock explains this in a very concise, easily understood way. In a recent interview over at Natural News, he explained how toxic MSG really is and how it is rife in all kinds of processed foods.

Because I know you are busy people, here are a few of the edited highlights (emphasis in bold is mine):

This is a very toxic substance, particularly to the developing brain…a research foundation found out, in fact, that the amounts human are consuming is the same amount that produces lesions in animal’s brains.

Scary huh?

The first group of symptoms that came to the public’s attention was the MSG syndrome in which people would have flushing of their face and heart palpitations and sometimes pains going down their arms and even episodes of GI discomfort and diarrhea. Well those are the obvious symptoms.

What was discovered is that in fact that there’s silent damage to the brain in which there’s very few symptoms. But over time, we see destruction of major important areas of the brain, things that can cause Alzheimer’s, Parkinson’s disease, ALS and that if you have these diseases it’s making them progress much faster.

So all the above info begs the question: WHAT IN THE BLUE HELL IS MSG DOING IN MY SUPERMARKET? And not only that but why does it not have a big, red, flashing poison sticker on it?

If I ever see anyone buying it I won’t be able to help myself.

I’ll slap it out of their hand and start yelling. Security might be called, the store might ban me, I might spend a night in the cells next to a snaggle-toothed pimp, but it’ll be worth it because, the way I see it, I’ll have saved a life.

20 thoughts on “Thursday Thoughts: Fear and Loathing in the Supermarket

    • Well I do know a lot of Chinese restaurants in my area purposefully advertise ‘no MSG’ so the practice probably still continues.
      *sigh* it’s so depressing that we have to deliberately ask “please no poison in my food” why isn’t this stuff banned already??!

  1. Wow – – I knew the stuff was awful, but didn’t really know why! Thanks! And now I won’t be able to help bashing it out of shoppers’ hands as well! I’ve also seen it at our grocery stores. Heinous. (On a side note, I had to laugh about the judgmental looks at the check-out line. I DO try NOT to… And, inevitably, whomever is ringing up my groceries says: “Oh, you eat so healthy!” A fairly rare occurence, I take it.)

    • Ahahaha! I’ve never had anyone actually comment on my cart but I do get asked questions in the fruit n veg section like “how do I cook sweet potatoes?” so I must look like I know what I’m doing 🙂

  2. It’s not really as scary as you think – the study goes like this, they take the amount of MSG a human would eat in, say a year, and inject that into a mouse, voila, legions in the brain. Read the quote again, that’s exactly what he says they did in the study. He just phrases it in a deceptive way to make you think that normal amounts will grow legions on your brain – that’s simply not the case at all. To prove a point, we could condense down anything – spinach – and get the oils contained in the leaves, equivalent to 1 years supply in vegetarian and inject that into a mouse and I’d bet he ends up with legions on the brain. Too much of anything is bad for you.

    A billion Chinese can’t be wrong, eh?

    • Thanks for clarifying Jim. I know that one MSG meal isn’t going to make me sprout brain growths (eww) but it is definitely a harmful substance and some folks are extremely sensitive to it. Even in tiny amounts.

      I think, at the very least, it needs to be labelled more clearly so people know that it can cause harm.

      Thanks for your comment!

  3. I love your sense of humor. There are some people, myself included, who are very sensitive to MSG. But apparantly there are some people who sprinkle it on everything, judging by the size of that container.
    Sometimes, the vegetables I buy make the checkout ladies ask me, “What is this? What do you do with it?” I am a geeky wealth of information, that I’m sure makes me seem a bit odd to them, but it probably gives them something to talk about after I leave.

    • Perhaps you are giving them ideas….I like to think they go home to their families and say “listen up kids, this lady at the checkout told me you can use an aubergine to thicken a curry….let’s do this!” 🙂

  4. That’s just crazy! I am just trying to picture the shopper who’d want that much MSG. Thanks for talking about the side effects, I am one of those people who reacts poorly to it. Also love the cart superiority. So funny and so true!

    • In a way I envy you – at least you’ve an inbuilt warning sign for MSG consumption. I worry that when I eat out I’m unwittingly gobbling huge amounts of the stuff – it’s so hard to tell.

      Thanks for reading 🙂

  5. Pingback: When Does ‘Best before’ Actually Mean Best Before? | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

